Thumbs Up! Award 2014–2016

The Thumbs Up! Award was established in 1986 to recognize the excellence in, and to celebrate the uniqueness of, Young Adult Literature. A committee, consisting of Young Adult and Teen Librarians, meets several times during the year to determine the winner. Winners are selected from books published in the U.S. during the previous year. Beginning in 2001, the Thumbs Up! Committee has included a teen vote.


by Scott Westerfeld

Sold Out

All American Boys

by Jason Reynolds

Sold Out

Baba Yaga’s Assistant

by Marika McCoola / Emily Carroll

Sold Out


by Noelle Stevenson

Sold Out


by John Corey Whaley

Sold Out

Out of the Easy

by Ruta Sepetys

Sold Out

Reality Boy

by A. S. King

Sold Out

She Is Not Invisible

by Marcus Sedgwick

Sold Out

The Crossover

by Kwame Alexander

Sold Out

The Nest

by Kenneth Oppel / Jon Klassen

Sold Out

The Shadow Hero

by Gene Luen Yang / Sonny Liew

Sold Out


by Andrew Smith / Sam Bosma

Special Order

Awards & Honors
Potentially Sensitive Areas