Oklahoma Sequoyah Book Awards 2017

The first Sequoyah Children's Book Award was given in April, 1959, making the award the third oldest children's choice award in the nation. In 1988, the first Sequoyah Young Adult Book Award was given. Twenty years later the YA book award was changed to “Intermediate Award” and a High School award was created and was first awarded in 2010. The awards are given annually, usually as an event at the Oklahoma Library Association's Annual Conference. The Oklahoma Library Association honors Sequoyah for his unique achievement in creating the Cherokee syllabary, the 86 symbols representing the different sounds in the Cherokee language. His statue is one of the two representing Oklahoma in the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C. The son of a Cherokee mother and a white trader father, Sequoyah, Cherokee for "Lame One," was also known by his English name, George Guess. A cabin built by Sequoyah as part of a United States government grant still stands near Sallisaw. This grant was the first given for literary achievement in the United States.

All American Boys

by Jason Reynolds

Sold Out

Arcady’s Goal

by Eugene Yelchin


Eden West

by Pete Hautman


El Deafo

by Cece Bell / David Lasky

Sold Out

Elizabeth, Queen of the Seas

by Lynne Cox / Brian Floca


Half a Chance

by Cynthia Lord

Sold Out


by William Ritter

Special Order

Mr. Ferris and His Wheel

by Kathryn Gibbs Davis / Gilbert Ford

Sold Out

Rain Reign

by Ann M. Martin

Sold Out

The Crossover

by Kwame Alexander

Sold Out

Wolf by Wolf

by Ryan Graudin

Sold Out

Awards & Honors
Potentially Sensitive Areas