Volunteer State Book Award 2016–2017

The Volunteer State Book Award is sponsored annually by the Tennessee Library Association and the Tennessee Association of School Librarians. Each year, children across Tennessee are asked to read books from a list of nominated titles. Starting in 2012-2013, the Volunteer State Book Award will have four divisions--Primary (Pre-K-2nd Grade), Intermediate (Grades 3rd-5th), Middle School (Grades 6-8), and high school (Grades 9-12). In the spring, those students who have read or listened to at least three of the titles from the list are eligible to vote for their favorite titles. These votes are tabulated and sent to the state organization. The book with the most votes statewide wins the award. The author of the book receives a plaque and is invited to Tennessee to receive the award.


by John Rocco

Sold Out

Brown Girl Dreaming

by Jacqueline Woodson

Sold Out

El Deafo

by Cece Bell / David Lasky

Sold Out


by Lizi Boyd

Sold Out


by John Corey Whaley

Sold Out

Rain Reign

by Ann M. Martin

Sold Out


by Raina Telgemeier

Sold Out

Space Case

by Stuart Gibbs

Special Order

The Crossover

by Kwame Alexander

Sold Out

The Map Trap

by Andrew Clements

Sold Out

The Shadow Hero

by Gene Luen Yang / Sonny Liew

Sold Out

The Terrible Two

by Mac Barnett / Kevin Cornell

Special Order

The Thickety: A Path Begins

by J. A. White / Andrea Offermann

Special Order

The Winner’s Curse

by Marie Rutkoski

Sold Out

Awards & Honors
Potentially Sensitive Areas