Find Books

Browse Our Catalog
Browse more than 1,000 titles—every one of them a JLG Gold Standard Selection. To find new favorites, search by category, grade level, or price.

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      I Got Next

      by Daria Peoples-Riley

      Jan 2020

      Sports Elementary Plus

      A young basketball player practices on the playground, preparing for an upcoming pickup game while his shadow urges him to play hard and leave his heart on the court. As the boy dribbles and weaves, shoots and scores, his shadow gives him the encouragement he needs to overcome pregame jitters and join the competition.

      In the companion to her debut picture book This is It, author-illustrator Daria Peoples-Riley praises hard work, dedication, and the love of the game. With vibrant artwork and a lively, rhythmic text, I Got Next is an exceptional read-aloud. The perfect choice for fans of Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut by Derrick Barnes; Jabari Jumps by Gaia Cornwall; and Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña.

      Full-color illustrations painted with black sumi ink, gouache, and watercolor, then digitally composited in Photoshop.

      Full-color illustrations painted with black sumi ink, gouache, and watercolor, then digitally composited in Photoshop.

      I Hope You Get This Message

      by Farah Naz Rishi

      Jan 2020

      Young Adults Plus

      When news hits that Earth has been receiving messages from a planet claiming to be its creator, no one knows what to think. If you ask the folks at NASA, this mysterious planet—Alma—is taking eight days to decide whether or not to hit the kill switch on their “colony,” Earth. True or not, for teenagers Jesse Hewitt, Cate Collins, and Adeem Khan, the prospect of this ticking time bomb will change their lives forever. There are pasts to reconcile, estranged family members to track down, and, ultimately, love and forgiveness to give and accept.

      With only seven days to face their truths and right their wrongs, Jesse, Cate, and Adeem’s paths collide as their worlds are pulled apart.

      All the Things We Do in the Dark

      by Saundra Mitchell

      Jan 2020

      Mystery High Plus

      There’s no such thing as a secret.

      SOMETHING happened to Ava. The curving scar on her face is proof. But Ava would rather keep that something hidden—buried deep in her heart and her soul. She has her best friend, Syd, and she has her tattoos—a colorful quilt, like a security blanket, over her whole body—and now, suddenly, she has Hailey. Beautiful, sweet Hailey, who seems to like Ava as much as she likes her.

      But in the woods on the outskirts of town, the traces of someone else’s secrets lie frozen, awaiting Ava’s discovery—and what Ava finds threatens to topple the carefully constructed wall of normalcy that she’s spent years building. Secrets leave scars. But when the secret in question is not your own, do you ignore the truth and walk away? Or do you uncover it from its shallow grave, and let it reopen old wounds—wounds that have finally begun to heal?

      Author’s note. Resources.

      No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One

      by Paul Fleischman

      Jan 2020

      Nonfiction Middle Plus

      Newbery Medalist Paul Fleischman considers how growing up with a father who was an award-winning author helped to shape and inspire his own career. Paul and Sid Fleischman are the only father-son Newbery pair in history, and life in the Fleischman home was extraordinary. Readers will feel like part of the family in this humorous and aspirational chronicle.

      Part memoir, part travelogue (young Paul travels from California to New Hampshire by himself), part writing book, and part reflection on art and creativity, this inspirational book includes black-and-white photographs, as well as writing tips and prompts just right for budding authors. No Map, Great Trip is a great gift for young writers, language arts teachers, and for fans of Jack Prelutsky’s Pizza, Pigs, and Poetry, and Ralph Fletcher’s A Writer’s Notebook.

      Black-and-white photographs.

      Bad Bella

      by Ali Standish

      Jan 2020

      Independent Readers

      Meet Bella, the very best dog a family could ask for.

      Only her family, the McBrides, don’t see it that way. Ever since Mrs. McBride’s belly started growing, they don’t seem to appreciate the way Bella cleans the crumbs from the kitchen floor, or how she’s always willing to play fetch after a long day. And when Bella’s valiant attempt to save the Christmas tree ends in disaster, she finds herself being swiftly abandoned at the pound.

      As the reality sinks in that she is unwanted, Bella is heartbroken. Where did she go wrong? Things look bleak until a kind couple, the Roses, take Bella in. Her new life is filled with wonderful things like parks and snowballs, vanilla ice cream, and the National Geographic channel. But as the weather turns cold again, the Roses start acting strangely, and Bella wonders if she can really trust them. Do they actually love her, or is history about to repeat itself? And will Bella be able to find a true home in time for Christmas this year?

      Author’s note, with photographs. Suggestions for helping shelter animals.

      Every Stolen Breath

      by Kimberly Gabriel

      Jan 2020

      PG High Plus

      The Swarm is unrecognizable, untraceable, and unpredictable-random attacks on the streets of Chicago by a mob of crazed teens that leaves death in its wake. It's been two years since the last attack, but Lia Finch has found clues that reveal the Swarm is ready to claim a new victim.

      Lia is the only one still pursuing her father's killers, two years after attorney Richard Finch's murder by the Swarm. Devastated and desperate for answers, Lia will do anything to uncover the reasons behind his death and to stop someone else from being struck down. But due to debilitating asthma and PTSD that leaves her with a tenuous hold on reality, Lia is the last person to mount a crusade on her own.

      After a close encounter with the Swarm puts Lia on their radar, she teams up with a teen hacker, a reporter, and a mysterious stranger who knows firsthand how the mob works. Together, they work to uncover the master puppeteer behind the group. Though if Lia and her network don't stop the person pulling the strings-and fast-Lia may end up the next target.

      Snail & Worm All Day: Three Stories About Two Friends

      by Tina Kügler

      Jan 2020

      Easy Reading

      Snail and Worm are back at it and sure to have readers giggling from dawn ‘til dusk (wait—do snails and worms sleep?) in Snail and Worm All Day, complete with heartfelt humor and Tina Kügler’s irresistible illustrations.

      Brimming with laugh-out-loud jokes, these three new stories are sweet celebrations of cooperation and discovery.

      Full-color illustrations were done with acrylic, collage, and digital media.

      El crossover (The Crossover)

      by Kwame Alexander

      Jan 2020

      Spanish Middle

      A bolt of lightning on my kicks…
      The court is SIZZLING.
      My sweat is DRIZZLING.
      Stop all that quivering.
      Cuz tonight I’m delivering.


      Basketball phenom Josh Bell and his twin brother, Jordan, are kings on the court, with crossovers that make even the toughest ballers cry. But when Jordan meets the new girl in school, the twins’ bond unravels. Basketball and brotherhood intertwine to show Josh and Jordan that life doesn’t come with a playbook and, sometimes, it’s not about winning.

      Between Us and Abuela: A Family Story from the Border

      by Mitali Perkins

      Jan 2020

      Multicultural Elementary

      It's almost time for Christmas, and Maria is traveling with her mother and younger brother, Juan, to visit their grandmother on the border of California and Mexico. For the few minutes they can share together along the fence, Maria and her brother plan to exchange stories and Christmas gifts with the grandmother they haven't seen in years. But when Juan's gift is too big to fit through the slats in the fence, Maria has a brilliant idea.

      Here is a heartwarming tale of families and the miracle of love.

      Author’s note. Full-color illustrations.

      The Fountains of Silence

      by Ruta Sepetys

      Jan 2020

      History High

      Madrid, 1957.
      Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco Franco, Spain is hiding a dark secret. Meanwhile, tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming promise of sunshine and wine. Among them is eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson, the son of an oil tycoon, who arrives in Madrid with his parents hoping to connect with the country of his mother’s birth through the lens of his camera. Photography—and fate—introduce him to Ana, whose family’s interweaving obstacles reveal the lingering grasp of the Spanish Civil War—as well as chilling definitions of fortune and fear. Daniel’s photographs leave him with uncomfortable questions amidst shadows of danger. He is backed into a corner of difficult decisions to protect those he loves. Lives and hearts collide, revealing an incredibly dark side to the sunny Spanish city.

      Author’s note. “Research and Sources.” Glossary of Spanish phrases and words. Black-and-white photographs.

      War Girls

      by Tochi Onyebuchi

      Jan 2020

      Current Trends High Plus

      The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

      In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs, and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life. Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together. And they’re willing to fight an entire war to get there.

      The Cheffe: A Cook's Novel

      by Marie NDiaye

      Jan 2020

      Adult Crossover High Plus

      Continuing her tradition of writing provocative fiction about fascinating women, here Marie NDiaye gives us the story of a Great Female Chef—a chef who was celebrated as one of the best in a world where men dominate, and the way that her pursuit of love, pleasure, and gustatory delights helped shape her life and career. Told from the perspective of her former assistant (and unrequited lover), now an aged chef himself, here is the story of a woman’s quest to the front of the kitchen—and the extraordinary journey she takes along the way.
      « 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.