Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Find Books

Browse Our Catalog
Browse more than 1,000 titles—every one of them a JLG Gold Standard Selection. To find new favorites, search by category, grade level, or price.

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      Note: Recent and future releases are only visible to active subscribers. Log in to see selections! Not an active subscriber? Get details today.

      Kondo & Kezumi Visit Giant Island

      by David Goodner

      Dec 2020

      Easy Reading

      The launch of a full-color chapter book series featuring best friends Kondo and Kezumi who find a map that leads to the wonders of the unknown, for fans of Ivy & Bean and Mercy Watson.

      Kondo is big. Kezumi is little. They lived on an island with fruit trees and berry bushes and flitter-birds and fluffle-bunnies. When a surprise bottle washes ashore, they discover a map with a mysterious message: WE ARE NOT ALONE. Kezumi wants to follow the map and explore the world. Kondo wants to stay home and pick fruit from the fruit tree and berries from the berry bushes. But once Kezumi builds the perfect boat, the best friends set sail together to see … well, they don't know!

      So begin the adventures of Kondo and Kezumi, where islands of cheese and giant mountains await. Rising stars David Goodner and Andrea Tsurumi team up for this illustrated chapter book series filled with charming quirks and unexpected discoveries. Get ready to set foot on uncharted territory with classic themes of friendship, community, and exploration.

      I Want to Sleep Under the Stars!: Unlimited Squirrels

      by Mo Willems

      Dec 2020

      Easy Reading Plus

      In I Want to Sleep Under the Stars, Zoom Squirrel dreams of sleeping under the night stars. The Squirrel pals are excited to help! But will their encouragement be enough—or too much? Do you know more about sleeping under the stars than the Squirrels do? You will by the end of this book!

      The Chicken Who Couldn't

      by Jan Thomas

      Dec 2020

      Kindergarten Plus

      It has not been a good day for Chicken. He went to the fair with Farmer, but didn’t win even one ribbon. And on the way home, the road is so bumpy that Farmer’s truck knocks Chicken right out! He’s been left behind! It’s the end for Chicken. Surely, he can’t walk all the way home. Or avoid the hungry fox along the way. Or maybe…he can?

      This rollicking picture book will have little ones in giggles over Chicken’s misadventures and chiming in on the plucky fowl’s mantra “I am a strong and powerful and nice-looking chicken!” as he achieves more than he thought possible.

      Above the Rim: How Elgin Baylor Changed Basketball

      by Jen Bryant

      Dec 2020

      Sports Elementary Plus

      Hall-of-famer Elgin Baylor was one of basketball’s all-time-greatest players—an innovative athlete, team player, and quiet force for change. One of the first professional African-American players, he inspired others on and off the court. But when traveling for away games, many hotels and restaurants turned Elgin away because he was black. One night, Elgin had enough and staged a one-man protest that captured the attention of the press, the public, and the NBA.

      Above the Rim is a poetic, exquisitely illustrated telling of the life of an underrecognized athlete and a celebration of standing up for what is right.

      A Pig in the Palace

      by Ali Bahrampour

      Dec 2020

      Humor Elementary Plus

      A flea-ridden forest boar, bewildered by an invitation to have dinner with the new and mysterious queen, leaves a trail of destruction at the palace, but discovers one can find a kindred spirit in the most unlikely of places.

      Ants

      by Katie Gillespie

      Dec 2020

      All About Animals Elementary

      How do ants grow and change? What happens during the pupa stage? Young readers will discover these facts and more in Ants, a "Sicnece Kids: Life Cycle" book.

      Rainforests

      by Alexis Roumanis

      Dec 2020

      World Languages Elementary

      Did you know that the world’s largest flower can be found in rainforests? Millions of different plants and animals live in the Amazon Rainforest. Discover more intriguing facts about this ecosystem in Rainforests. Each "World Languages" title includes access to ten eBooks in ten languages! Our language toggle bar allows you to easily switch between languages.

      Snowmobiling

      by Blaine Wiseman

      Dec 2020

      Sports Essentials Elementary

      Snowmobiling was added to the Winter X Games in 1998. Snowmobilers in the Winter X Games SnoCross event can reach speeds of 60 miles (96 kilometers) per hour while airborne. Learn more in Snowmobiling, one of the titles in the "Extreme Sports" series.

      Night Walk to the Sea: A Story About Rachel Carson, Earth's Protector

      by Deborah Wiles

      Dec 2020

      Primary

      This luminous picture book by an award-winning author and acclaimed illustrator is the perfect tool to discuss the importance of the natural world with young children, as well as introduce them to environmental activist Rachel Carson.

      “I’m not afraid!” shouts Roger when he hears thunder outside…but he is afraid. When the storm quiets, his aunt Rachel decides to take him on a walk to see the beauty of the natural world at night. Over his Godzilla pj’s goes his rain slicker; onto his feet go his monster boots, and together he and Rachel head down the rocky path to the sea.

      On the way they discover many marvels—a screech owl calling to its mate, ghost crabs tunneling in the sand, and most incredibly, the luminous life that lights up the water. When they find a tiny firefly who has lost its way, they bring it home and release it back into the woods. At last, Rachel tucks Roger into bed, telling him he is “nature’s brave protector.” An afterword introducing young readers to Rachel Carson, and explaining bioluminiscence, adds to the appeal of the book.

      Feel the Fog

      by April Pulley Sayre

      Dec 2020

      Nonfiction Early Elementary Plus

      Discover the wonder and science behind fog in this stunning and immersive nonfiction picture book from award-winning author and photographer April Pulley Sayre.

      Damp and drippy, misty and mysterious…fog is fascinating. Step inside this natural phenomenon and see how fog is formed, how it clears away, and why it feels chilly. Young readers will love this lyrical and gorgeously photo-illustrated exploration of these clouds that come to visit.

      Shine

      by Jessica Jung

      Dec 2020

      Current Trends High Plus

      What would you give for a chance to live your dreams?

      For seventeen-year-old Korean American Rachel Kim, the answer is almost everything. Six years ago, she was recruited by DB Entertainment—one of Seoul’s largest K-pop labels, known for churning out some of the world’s most popular stars. The rules are simple: Train 24/7. Be perfect. Don’t date. Easy right?

      Not so much. As the dark scandals of an industry bent on controlling and commodifying beautiful girls begin to bubble up, Rachel wonders if she’s strong enough to be a winner, or if she’ll end up crushed… Especially when she begins to develop feelings for K-pop star and DB golden boy Jason Lee. It’s not just that he’s charming, sexy, and ridiculously talented. He’s also the first person who really understands how badly she wants her star to rise.

      The Suffragist Playbook: Your Guide to Changing the World

      by Lucinda Robb

      Dec 2020

      Nonfiction High Plus

      Do you have a cause you’re passionate about? Take a few tips from the suffragists, who led one of the largest and longest movements in American history.

      The women’s suffrage movement was decades in the making and came with many harsh setbacks. But it resulted in a permanent victory: women’s right to vote. How did the suffragists do it? One hundred years later, an eye-opening look at their playbook shows that some of their strategies seem oddly familiar. Women’s marches at inauguration time? Check. Publicity stunts, optics, and influencers? They practically invented them. Petitions, lobbying, speeches, raising money, and writing articles? All of that, too.

      From moments of inspiration to some of the movement’s darker aspects—including the racism of some suffragist leaders, violence against picketers, and hunger strikes in jail—this clear-eyed view takes in the role of key figures: Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Sojourner Truth, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Frances Willard, Ida B. Wells, Alice Paul, and many more. Engagingly narrated by Lucinda Robb and Rebecca Boggs Roberts, whose friendship goes back generations (to their grandmothers, Lady Bird Johnson and Lindy Boggs, and their mothers, Lynda Robb and Cokie Roberts), this unique melding of seminal history and smart tactics is sure to capture the attention of activists-in-the-making today.
      « 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.