Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Find Books

Browse Our Catalog
Browse more than 1,000 titles—every one of them a JLG Gold Standard Selection. To find new favorites, search by category, grade level, or price.

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      Note: Recent and future releases are only visible to active subscribers. Log in to see selections! Not an active subscriber? Get details today.

      Watch Over Me

      by Nina LaCour

      Dec 2020

      High-Interest High Plus

      Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why she said yes to the opportunity: living in this remote place, among the flowers and the fog and the crash of waves far below.

      But she hadn’t known about the ghosts.

      Newly graduated from high school, Mila has aged out of the foster care system. So when she’s offered a job and a place to stay at a farm on an isolated part of the Northern California Coast, she immediately accepts. Maybe she will finally find a new home, a real home. The farm is a refuge, but also haunted by the past traumas its young residents have come to escape. And Mila’s own terrible memories are starting to rise to the surface.

      Jack and Santa

      by Mac Barnett

      Dec 2020

      Emergent Readers Plus

      When Jack finds himself on the naughty list, he worries that Santa will bring him coal. But Jack wants presents–lots of them. Will Jack be able to prove to Santa that he’s not so bad after all?

      Welcome to the laugh-out-loud and irreverent world of Jack, a new early reader series by the New York Times bestselling and award-winning team of Mac Barnett and Greg Pizzoli.

      This Is My America

      by Kim Johnson

      Dec 2020

      Young Adults

      The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

      Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time—her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town’s racist history that still haunt the present?

      Red Fox Road

      by Frances Greenslade

      Dec 2020

      High Interest Middle Plus

      Francie and her parents are on a spring road trip: driving from British Columbia, Canada, to hike in the Grand Canyon. Her mom and dad are fighting because her dad is relying on GPS, while her mom wants to follow a (paper) map. When the GPS leads them down an old logging road, disaster strikes. Their truck hits a rock and wipes out the oilpan. They are stuck in the middle of nowhere. Francie can’t help feeling a little excited, as she’d often imagined how she’d survive if she got stranded in the bush, and now here they are. Her dad sets off to walk for help. Francie and her mom are left on their own, with little food, but that’s okay: her dad will be back in a few hours, with help—and hot chocolate, he promised. But hours go by. And then a day. And then another. Francie relies on her outdoor living lessons and her keen interest in nature for distraction, gathering dandelion leaves and fir needles for tea. Then one morning, Francie wakes up all alone.

      Eleanor, Alice, and the Roosevelt Ghosts

      by Dianne K. Salerni

      Dec 2020

      Mystery Middle Plus

      It’s 1898 in New York City and ghosts exist among humans.

      When an unusual spirit takes up residence at the Roosevelt house, thirteen-year-old Eleanor and fourteen-year-old Alice are suspicious. The cousins don’t get along, but they know something is not right. This ghost is more than a pesky nuisance. The authorities claim he’s safe to be around, even as his mischievous behavior grows stranger and more menacing. It’s almost like he wants to scare the Roosevelts out of their home - and no one seems to care!

      Meanwhile, Eleanor and Alice discover a dangerous ghost in the house where Alice was born and her mother died. Is someone else haunting the family?

      Introverted Eleanor and unruly Alice develop an unlikely friendship as they explore the family’s dark, complicated history. It’s up to them to destroy both ghosts and come to terms with their family’s losses.

      Told from alternating perspectives, thrills and chills abound in Dianne K. Salerni’s imaginative novel about a legendary family and the ghosts that haunt their secrets.

      Pine Island Home

      by Polly Horvath

      Dec 2020

      PG Middle Plus

      When the McCready sisters’ parents are washed away in a tsunami, their Great Aunt Martha volunteers to have them live with her on her farm in British Columbia. But while they are traveling there, Martha dies unexpectedly, forcing Fiona, the eldest, to come up with a scheme to keep social services from separating the girls - a scheme that will only work if no one knows they are living on their own.

      Fiona approaches their grouchy and indifferent neighbor Al and asks if he will pretend to be their live-in legal guardian should papers need to be signed or if anyone comes snooping around. He reluctantly agrees, under the condition that they bring him dinner every night.

      As weeks pass, Fiona takes on more and more adult responsibilities, while each of the younger girls finds their own special role in their atypical family - But even if things seem to be falling into place, Fiona is sure it’s only a matter of time before they are caught.

      Hello, Arnie!: An Arnie the Doughnut Story

      by Laurie Keller

      Dec 2020

      Pre-Kindergarten Plus

      Arnie and his pastry pals are excited to meet YOU. But first he has a question: What kind of doughnut are you anyway? Let’s see…

      1) You’re not round.
      2) You don’t have frosting or sprinkles.
      3) You don’t have filling coming out of your head.
      4) You’re not glazed with sugar.
      5) You don’t have a hole in the middle.

      Hmmm, this is harder than Arnie thought. Whoever you are, get ready to say HELLO, ARNIE! This ingenious new picture book breaks the fourth wall as Arnie gets to know his youngest readers—preschoolers—and makes them giggle with every page turn. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems, Bob Shea, and Jory John.

      The Challenger Disaster: Tragedy in the Skies: History Comics

      by Pranas T. Naujokaitis

      Dec 2020

      Nonfiction Middle Plus

      Turn back the clock with History Comics! This volume of First Second's new nonfiction series introduces readers to the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster of 1986.

      Let this graphic novel be your time machine—experience history like never before! Fight for equality in the Montgomery Bus Boycott, train with the first civilian selected for a mission to space, help spark a rebellion at the Stonewall Riot, and so much more! With History Comics, the past comes alive in a way that's edifying, entertaining, and relevant to kids' lives.

      In this volume, turn the clock back to January 28, 1986. Seven astronauts boarded the space shuttle Challenger on what was intended to be a routine mission. But then disaster struck. What caused the mid-air explosion? Would future crewed space missions be permanently grounded? In this imaginative tale set in a far-off future a group of curious kids investigates the hard questions surrounding the Challenger explosion.

      Skyhunter

      by Marie Lu

      Dec 2020

      Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

      The Karensa Federation has conquered a dozen kingdoms, leaving Mara as the only free nation left. Those who make it there escape a fate worse than death—enslavement as mutated war beasts known as Ghosts. The Strikers, a Maran elite force, are trained to stop them, but as the number of Ghosts grow, defeat becomes inevitable.

      Still, one Striker refuses to give up hope.

      Robbed of her voice and home, Talin knows the brutality of the Federation firsthand. Their cruelty forced her and her mother to seek asylum in a country that finds their people repugnant. After another vicious attack, Mara seems ready to fall, but when a mysterious prisoner is brought back from the warfront, Talin can sense there’s more to him than meets the eye. Could he be the weapon that will save them all?

      Whose Right Is It?: The Second Amendment and the Fight Over Guns

      by Hana Bajramovic

      Dec 2020

      History High

      A timely, important investigation of the Second Amendment and the impact it's had on our nation's history, for middle grade readers who loved Bomb and In the Shadow of Liberty.

      The Second Amendment has become increasingly relevant to school children across America. From shooting drills to metal detectors to see-through backpacks, kids face daily reminders of the threat of guns. In this first-of-its-kind book for the middle grade market, Whose Right Is It: The Second Amendment and the Fight Over Guns reveals how a once obscure amendment became the focus of daily heated debate.

      Filled with historical photos and informative graphics, the book will show young readers how smart gun reform has always been a part of our history and how money, power, and race have long dictated our ability to own guns.

      Alice's Farm: A Rabbit's Tale

      by Maryrose Wood

      Dec 2020

      Intermediate Readers Plus

      The trouble between farmers and rabbits goes way back, probably to the first garden that ever was. So, when a new family moves into Prune Street Farm after two years of the place sitting empty, Alice and her fellow cottontails aren’t sure what to make of it. The new owners are from the city, and have two kids and a DOG in tow (rabbits and dogs don't get along). The Harvey family means well, and soon Alice and her crew understand they will be safe on the farm.

      Until she overhears a plan by a developer to run the Harveys off the land and bulldoze the farm. Alice, who has never considered herself a hero among rabbits, comes up with a plan to save their home, helped by other animals and the farmer's son.

      Albert Hopper, Science Hero

      by John Himmelman

      Dec 2020

      Independent Readers Plus

      Science Hero Albert Hopper is on a mission: to travel to the center of the earth! With his wormlike ship Wiggles and the help of his niece and nephew, trusty Junior Science Heroes Polly and Tad, Hopper is ready to go where no frog has gone before.

      Thick layers of rock and rubble, tunnels of lava, and temperatures of 6,000 degrees stand between our heroes and their prize. Will they make it? Find out in this funny and informative adventure, perfect for fans of the "Math Inspectors" series and the "Zoey and the Sassafrass" books.
      « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.