Find Books

Browse Our Catalog
Browse more than 1,000 titles—every one of them a JLG Gold Standard Selection. To find new favorites, search by category, grade level, or price.

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      The Knight of Mars: Castle in the Stars

      by Alex Alice

      Jan 2020

      Graphic Novels Middle Plus

      What if humanity journeyed into space in 1869, not 1969?

      Upon returning home from their perilous voyage to the moon, Seraphin and the Knights of Ether make a bold choice: To keep their aethership out of the hands of the Prussians, they must reveal the secret of space travel to the world. Afterwards, they seek refuge on a quaint island in Brittany, but their journey is long from over. The villainous Prussians have discovered their hiding spot, and they'll stop at nothing to commandeer their ship. An explosive chase ensues, leading our heroes all the way to the uncharted terrain of Mars!

      Concept art. Full-color illustrations.

      Lintang and the Pirate Queen

      by Tamara Moss

      Jan 2020

      Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

      Lintang is an island girl who longs for daring and danger. When she meets the feared pirate, Captain Shafira, and her all-female crew, Lintang is determined to join them. Secrets within secrets, life-or-death battles with spectacular monsters, and hair’s breadth escapes keep readers turning the pages of a story populated by women of color who are fighters, adventurers, and leaders.

      The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue

      by Karina Yan Glaser

      Jan 2020

      City Elementary

      For the Vanderbeeker kids of Harlem’s 141st Street, spring break couldn’t be off to a better start. Isa’s back from band camp, Oliver’s building his first-ever treehouse in the backyard of the brownstone, and Laney, Jess, and Hyacinth are excited to help their mother when she gets the once-in-a-lifetime chance to star in a cooking magazine.

      But the Vanderbeekers’ plans go off the rails when an unexpected visit from city officials puts their mother’s bakery in jeopardy. Now they’ll have to band together to save the day before they’re out of business. Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and Front Desk.

      The Crossover: Graphic Novel

      by Kwame Alexander

      Jan 2020

      Sports Middle Plus

      "With a bolt of lightning on my kicks…The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. ’Cuz tonight I’m delivering," raps twelve-year-old Josh Bell. Thanks to their dad, he and his twin brother, Jordan, are kings on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood—he's got mad beats, too, which help him find his rhythm when it’s all on the line.

      See the Bell family in a whole new light through Dawud Anyabwile's dynamic illustrations as the brothers' winning season unfolds, and the world as they know it begins to change.

      Two-color illustrations.

      The Whispering Wars

      by Jaclyn Moriarty

      Jan 2020

      Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus

      The town of Spindrift is frequented by all kinds of Shadow Mages and charlatans. It's also home to the Orphanage School, where Finlay lives with Glim, Taya, and Eli. Just outside town is the painfully posh Brathelthwaite Boarding School, home to Honey Bee, Hamish, and Victor, Duke of Ainsley. When the two schools compete at the Spindrift Tournament, the stakes are high, tensions are higher, and some people are out to win at any cost. Before long, the orphans and the boarding school kids are at each other's throats.

      And then the Whispering Wars break out, and Spindrift is thrust onto the front lines. Children are being stolen; witches, sirens, and a deadly magical flu invade the town; and all attempts to fight back are met with defeat. Finlay, Honey Bee, and their friends must join forces to outwit the encroaching forces of darkness, rescue the stolen children, and turn the tide of the war. But how can one bickering troupe outwit the insidious power of the Whisperers?

      Black-and-white illustrations.

      Her Own Two Feet: A Rwandan Girl's Brave Fight to Walk

      by Meredith Davis

      Jan 2020

      Biography Middle Plus

      Rebeka Uwitonze was born in Rwanda with curled and twisted feet, which meant she had to crawl or be carried to get around. At nine years old, she gets an offer that could change her life. A doctor in the US might be able to turn her feet. But it means leaving her own family behind and going to America on her own.

      Her Own Two Feet tells Rebeka's inspiring story through her eyes, with the help of one of her hosts. She travels from Rwanda to Austin, Texas, to join the Davis family, despite knowing almost no English. In the face of dozens of hospital visits and painful surgeries, Rebeka's incredible bravery and joyful spirit carry her to the opportunity of a lifetime. A stunning debut about hope, perseverance, and what becomes possible when you take a risk.

      Glossary. “A Note from Rebeka.” “A Note from Meredith.” About Africa New Life Ministries. Black-and-white photographs.

      Titanosaurio: El descubrimiento del dinosaurio más grande del mundo (Titanosaur: Discovering the World's Largest Dinosaur)

      by Dr. Diego Pol

      Jan 2020

      Spanish Elementary

      This book tells the story of the discovery of this new dinosaur from the mouths of the paleontologists who led the dig! From its discovery by a local herder, to the organization and completion of the excavation, this riveting story will have readers on the edge of their seats, and the beautifully painted illustrations will mesmerize.

      Authors’ note. Full-color illustrations and photographs.

      Who is the Mystery Reader?: Unlimited Squirrels

      by Mo Willems

      Jan 2020

      Easy Reading Plus

      Mo Willems, creator of the revolutionary, award-winning, best-selling Elephant & Piggie books, is back with another breakout beginning-reader series. An ensemble cast of Squirrels, Acorns, and pop-in guests host a page-turning extravaganza. Each book features a funny, furry adventure AND bonus jokes, quirky quizzes, nutty facts, and so, so many Squirrels.

      In Who Is the Mystery Reader?, Zoom Squirrel tries out a new superpower with help from a mysterious Mystery Reader. But will the Squirrel pals ever find out who the real Mystery Reader is? Do you know more about reading than the Squirrels do? You will by the end of this book!

      Full-color illustrations.

      The Last True Poets of the Sea

      by Julia Drake

      Jan 2020

      Mature Young Adults Plus

      The Larkin family isn't just lucky—they persevere. At least, that's what Violet and her younger brother, Sam, were always told. When the Lyric sank off the coast of Maine, their great-great-great grandmother didn't drown like the rest of the passengers. No, Fidelia swam to shore, fell in love, and founded Lyric, Maine, the town Violet and Sam returned to every summer. But wrecks seem to run in the family: Tall, funny, musical Violet can't stop partying with the wrong people. And, one beautiful summer day, brilliant, sensitive Sam attempts to take his own life.

      Shipped back to Lyric while Sam is in treatment, Violet is haunted by her family's missing piece—the lost shipwreck she and Sam dreamed of discovering when they were children. Desperate to make amends, Violet embarks on a wildly ambitious mission: locate the Lyric, lain hidden in a watery grave for over a century.

      Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass

      by Mariko Tamaki

      Jan 2020

      Graphic Novels High Plus

      With just five dollars and a knapsack to her name, fifteen-year-old Harleen Quinzel is sent to live in Gotham City. She’s not worried, though—she’s battled a lot of hard situations as a kid, and knows her determination and outspokenness will carry her through life in the most dangerous city in the world. And when Gotham’s finest drag queen, Mama, takes her in, it seems like Harley has finally found a place to grow into her most "true true" with new best friend Ivy at Gotham High.

      But when Mama’s drag cabaret becomes the next victim in the wave of gentrification that’s taking over the neighborhood, Harley gets mad. She decides to turn her anger into action and is faced with two choices: join activist Ivy, who’s campaigning to make the neighborhood a better place to live, or join her anarchist friend Joker, who plans to take down Gotham one corporation at a time.

      Full-color illustrations.

      Ink!: 100 Fun Facts About Octopuses, Squid, and More

      by Stephanie Warren Drimmer

      Jan 2020

      Independent Readers Plus

      Learn everything you’ve ever wanted to know about cephalopods, from inking, to hunting, to coconut carrying. Squish along with squid, camouflage with cuttlefish, and marvel at magnificent octopuses. Packed with weird-but-true facts and tons of cool animal info, this Level 3 Reader explores the incredible world of cephalopods.

      National Geographic Fact Readers feature the same expert-vetted running text as traditional readers—with a bonus of 100 fun facts sprinkled throughout! A fact roundup at the end of each book lets kids review what they’ve learned. (Plus, they can impress their friends with their animal expertise!)

      Cephalopod facts roundup. Index. Full-color illustrations and photographs.

      The Hike

      by Alison Farrell

      Jan 2020

      Pre-Kindergarten Plus

      With lyrical language that captures the majesty of the natural world coupled with fun narrative featured throughout, this spirited picture book tells the victorious story of three girls' friendship—and their tribulations and triumphs in the great outdoors. Here is the best and worst of any hike: from picnics to puffing and panting, deer-sighting to detours. Featuring a glossary, a sketchbook by one of the characters, abundant labels throughout, and scientific backmatter, this book is a must-have for budding scientists, best friends, and all adventurers. And it proves, as if proof were needed, what epic things can happen right in your own backyard.

      Full-color illustrations were rendered in watercolor and ink.
      « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.