Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Find Books

Demand Diversity


The world is a diverse place. No two people, communities, cultures or mindsets are identical. As librarians, it’s critical to offer a collection that is as diverse as your readers. We've compiled select in-stock titles featured in our recent "Demand Diversity" webcast to help you find quality books to diversify your library's collection!

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      Note: Recent and future releases are only visible to active subscribers. Log in to see selections! Not an active subscriber? Get details today.

      Mirage

      by Somaiya Daud

      Oct 2018

      Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

      In a world dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation; she dreams of writing poetry like the old-world poems she adores; she dreams of receiving a sign from Dihya that one day, she, too, will have adventure, and travel beyond her isolated home.
      But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects: she is kidnapped by the regime and taken in secret to the royal palace, where she discovers that she is nearly identical to the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. The princess is so hated by her conquered people that she requires a body double, someone to appear in public as Maram, ready to die in her place.
      As Amani is forced into her new role, she can’t help but enjoy the palace’s beauty—and her time with the princess’ fiancé, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear. If Amani ever wishes to see her family again, she must play the princess to perfection...because one wrong move could lead to her death.
      Black-and-white maps and illustrations.

      Tight

      by Torrey Maldonado

      Oct 2018

      Advanced Readers Plus

      Kids from the Brooklyn projects are supposed to be “hard.” But when Bryan starts hanging with new kid Mike, he learns that pretending to be tough can lead to trouble.

      A Big Mooncake for Little Star

      by Grace Lin

      Oct 2018

      Kindergarten Plus

      Little Star and her mother make a mooncake, but it’s not time to eat it yet. In the middle of the night, Little Star wonders: will her mama notice if she takes tiny nibble?
      Author’s note. Full-color gouache illustrations.

      A Moon for Moe and Mo

      by Jane Breskin Zalben

      Oct 2018

      City Elementary

      Moses Feldman, a Jewish boy, lives at one end of Flatbush Avenue in Brooklyn, New York, while Mohammed Hassan, a Muslim boy, lives at the other. One day they meet at Sahadi’s market while out shopping with their mothers and are mistaken for brothers. A friendship is born, and the boys bring their families together to share rugelach and date cookies in the park as they make a wish for peace.
      Author’s note. Illustrator’s note. Full-color illustrations done in acrylic, markers, ink, and photo collage, then digitally assembled in Photoshop.

      My Beijing: Four Stories of Everyday Wonder

      by Nie Jun

      Oct 2018

      Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

      Information about Beijing and its traditional neighborhoods. Additional black-and-white pencil sketches. Full-color illustrations.

      Meet Yasmin!

      by Saadia Faruqi

      Oct 2018

      Easy Reading

      Discussion suggestions. Glossary of Urdu words. Pakistan facts. Recipe and activity. Full-color illustrations.

      How to Build A Hug: Temple Grandin and Her Amazing Squeeze Machine

      by Amy Guglielmo

      Oct 2018

      Biography Elementary Plus

      As a young girl, Temple Grandin loved folding paper kites, making obstacle courses, and building lean-tos. But she really didn’t like hugs. Temple wanted to be held—but to her, hugs felt like being stuffed inside the scratchiest sock in the world; like a tidal wave of dentist drills, sandpaper, and awful cologne, coming at her all at once. Would she ever get to enjoy the comfort of a hug?
      Then one day, Temple had an idea. If she couldn’t receive a hug, she would make one…she would build a hug machine!
      Authors’ note. Full-color watercolor illustrations.

      A Thousand Beginnings and Endings: 15 Retellings of Asian Myths and Legends

      by Ellen Oh

      Oct 2018

      Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

      A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.
      Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.
      Notes on the background of each myth being retold. Editors’ note. Brief author biographies.

      Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish

      by Pablo Cartaya

      Oct 2018

      Advanced Readers Plus

      Eighth grader and gentle giant Marcus travels to Puerto Rico with his mom and his disabled brother, where they search for Marcus’s long-lost dad.

      Driving by Starlight

      by Anat Deracine

      Sep 2018

      Young Adults Plus

      Leena and her best friend Mishail delight in small rebellions against the Saudi Arabian cultural police: Western clothing, forbidden music, dating. Still, Leena wants more.
      Glossary.

      Power Forward: Zayd Saleem, Chasing the Dream

      by Hena Khan

      Sep 2018

      Sports Elementary Plus

      Fourth-grader Zayd Saleem wants to make the Gold Team. But his Pakistani American parents want him to practice his violin. Can he balance both basketball and violin?
      Black-and-white illustrations.

      Calling All Minds: How to Think and Create Like an Inventor

      by Temple Grandin

      Jul 2018

      Nonfiction Middle

      World-renowned autism spokesperson, scientist, and inventor Temple Grandin presents personal stories, inventions, and facts that will blow young inventors' minds and make them soar.
      « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.