Find Books

Demand Diversity


The world is a diverse place. No two people, communities, cultures or mindsets are identical. As librarians, it’s critical to offer a collection that is as diverse as your readers. We've compiled select in-stock titles featured in our recent "Demand Diversity" webcast to help you find quality books to diversify your library's collection!

Browse these 60+ JLG selections Pre-K to High School to add them to your collection for just $9 each with coupon code ENRICH2020Not a member? Become a member to shop this sale.

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      Fresh Ink: An Anthology

      by Lamar Giles

      Oct 2018

      Young Adults Plus

      This label-defying anthology, edited by a founding member of We Need Diverse Books, contains thirteen stories by some of today’s most recognizable authors, including Nicola Yoon, Jason Reynolds, and Melissa de la Cruz.
      Foreword. Note on We Need Diverse Books. Brief author biographies. Black-and-white illustrations.

      A Thousand Beginnings and Endings: 15 Retellings of Asian Myths and Legends

      by Ellen Oh

      Oct 2018

      Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

      A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.
      Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.
      Notes on the background of each myth being retold. Editors’ note. Brief author biographies.

      Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish

      by Pablo Cartaya

      Oct 2018

      Advanced Readers Plus

      Eighth grader and gentle giant Marcus travels to Puerto Rico with his mom and his disabled brother, where they search for Marcus’s long-lost dad.

      Driving by Starlight

      by Anat Deracine

      Sep 2018

      Young Adults Plus

      Leena and her best friend Mishail delight in small rebellions against the Saudi Arabian cultural police: Western clothing, forbidden music, dating. Still, Leena wants more.
      Glossary.

      Power Forward: Zayd Saleem, Chasing the Dream

      by Hena Khan

      Sep 2018

      Sports Elementary Plus

      Fourth-grader Zayd Saleem wants to make the Gold Team. But his Pakistani American parents want him to practice his violin. Can he balance both basketball and violin?
      Black-and-white illustrations.

      Calling All Minds: How to Think and Create Like an Inventor

      by Temple Grandin

      Jul 2018

      Nonfiction Middle

      World-renowned autism spokesperson, scientist, and inventor Temple Grandin presents personal stories, inventions, and facts that will blow young inventors' minds and make them soar.

      Pride: The Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag

      by Rob Sanders

      Jun 2018

      Biography Elementary Plus

      This true story traces the life of the Gay Pride Flag, from its beginnings in 1978 with social activist Harvey Milk and designer Gilbert Baker.

      Teddy’s Favorite Toy

      by Christian Trimmer

      May 2018

      Kindergarten Plus

      A mom goes to great lengths to rescue her son's favorite doll in this delightful tribute to treasured toys—and mothers. Full-color illustrations were done in gouache and pencils, and then digitally composed.

      The New Kid: The Carver Chronicles, Book Five

      by Karen English

      Apr 2018

      Independent Readers

      This gently humorous story about a diverse group of elementary schoolers shows that even someone who seems strange can turn out to be a good friend, if you give them a chance. Black-and-white illustrations, executed digitally.

      Love, Hate, and Other Filters

      by Samira Ahmed

      Apr 2018

      Young Adults

      In this unforgettable debut, an American-born Muslim teen with filmmaking dreams copes with Islamophobia and cultural divides between school and home.

      An American Marriage

      by Tayari Jones

      Mar 2018

      Adult Crossover High Plus

      Newlyweds Roy and Celeste's love is put to the test when Roy is incarcerated for a crime Celeste knows he didn't commit.

      Look! What Do You See?: An Art Puzzle Book of American and Chinese Songs

      by Xu Bing

      Feb 2018

      Multicultural Elementary

      A puzzle, a work of art, and a collection of classic American and Chinese songs, fill this innovative book by one of the world’s foremost contemporary artists.
      « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.