Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Find Books

Search Results

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      Note: Recent and future releases are only visible to active subscribers. Log in to see selections! Not an active subscriber? Get details today.

      My First Day

      by Phung Nguyen Quang and Huynh Thi Kim Lien

      Apr 2021

      Multicultural Elementary

      This is no ordinary first journey. The raining season has come to the Mekong Delta, and An, a young Vietnamese boy, sets out alone in a wooden boat wearing a little backpack and armed only with a single oar. On the way, he is confronted by giant crested waves, heavy rainfall and an eerie forests where fear takes hold of him. Although daunted by the dark unknown, An realizes that he is not alone and continues to paddle. He knows it will all be worth it when he reaches his destination.

      Mel Fell

      by Corey R. Tabor

      Apr 2021

      Read Aloud Plus

      From Geisel Award–winning author-illustrator Corey Tabor comes a tale about self-confidence and taking a leap of faith, starring an adorable, brave kingfisher.

      Sometimes, you might fall
      down,
      down,
      down,
      before you learn to fly
      up,
      up,
      up. . .

      A charming and innovative tale about a plucky little bird, from the award-winning author of Fox the Tiger.

      Find Fergus

      by Mike Boldt

      Mar 2021

      Kindergarten Plus

      Children will giggle from start to finish as they follow huge, loveable Fergus and see all the silly ways in which he is TERRIBLE at playing hide-and-seek—such as hiding behind a VERY tiny tree (“Found you, Fergus! That was too easy!”) or hiding in a giant crowd of bunnies and squirrels (“Try bears, Fergus. Bears!”).

      But wait—the game isn’t over yet! The last two pages fold out into a giant panoramic look-and-find scene, where Fergus is well and truly hidden, and young readers can have fun looking for him and lots of other silly details in the the crowd. There’s a ton of play value in this adorable book, and children will want to come back to it again and again.

      Fergus wants to play hide and seek. But, look, there he is, hiding right in the middle of a big blank page! “Found you, Fergus! That was too easy. Try hiding behind something.” (Giant, furry Fergus hides behind a very tiny tree.) “Oh, Fergus. Start by hiding in a crowd.” (Fergus hides next to duck and a fox, who don’t seem impressed.)“A crowd is more than THREE, Fergus!”

      Sprouting Wings: The True Story of James Herman Banning, the First African American Pilot to Fly Across the United States

      by Louisa Jaggar

      Mar 2021

      Nonfiction Elementary Plus

      The inspirational and true story of James Herman Banning, the first African American pilot to fly across the country, comes to life in this picture book biography perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Little Leaders. Includes art from a Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator.

      James Herman Banning always dreamed of touching the sky. But how could a farm boy from Oklahoma find a plane? And how would he learn to fly it? None of the other pilots looked like him.

      In a journey that would span 3,300 miles, take twenty-one days, and inspire a nation, James Herman Banning proved that you can't put barriers on dreams. Louisa Jaggar incorporates over seven years of research, including Banning's own writings and an interview with the aviator's great-nephew. She teams up with cowriter Share Becker and award-winning illustrator Floyd Cooper to capture Banning's historic flight across the United States.

      The Boy Whose Head Was Filled with Stars: A Life of Edwin Hubble

      by Isabelle Marinov

      Mar 2021

      Science Nonfiction Elementary Plus

      A beautiful picture book about the astronomer Edwin Hubble that invites children to ponder How many stars are in the sky? How did the universe begin? Where diid it come from?

      This is the story of Edwin Hubble, a boy fascinated by the stars who surmounted many hurdles to follow his dreams of becoming an astronomer. Using the insights of great mathematicians and endlessly observing the sky, he succeeded in confirming two things that altered human life forever: that there are more galaxies than our own, and that the universe is always expanding. Hubble’s message to us is to find peace in the vastness of the mystery surrounding us, and to be curious. “We do now know why we are born into the world,” he said, “but we can try to find out what sort of world it is.”

      Ten Beautiful Things

      by Molly Beth Griffin

      Mar 2021

      Primary Plus

      Lily and her grandmother search for ten beautiful things as they take a long car ride to Iowa and Lily’s new home with Gran. At first, Lily sees nothing beautiful in the April slush and cloudy sky. Soon though, Lily can see beauty in unexpected places, from the smell of spring mud to a cloud shaped like a swan to a dilapitated barn. A furious rainstorm mirrors Lily’s anxiety, but as it clears Lily discovers the tenth beautiful thing: Lily and Gran and their love for each other.

      Ten Beautiful Things leaves the exact cause of Lily’s move ambiguous, making it perfect for anyone helping a child navigate change, whether it be the loss of a parent, entering or leaving a foster home, or moving.

      Wolfboy

      by Andy Harkness

      Mar 2021

      Read Aloud Plus

      This dynamic picture book from an award-winning art director shows how feeling hangry can turn even the sweetest kid into a Wolfboy!

      Wolfboy is hungry!
      He’s drooly and growly and fussy!
      As he stomps through the forest looking for rabbits, he grows hungrier and growlier by the minute! What will happen if Wolfboy can’t find those rabbits? And what will happen if he does?

      With bold illustrations and energetic storytelling, Wolfboy perfectly captures the big feelings that come with being very hungry! Engaging for young readers and parents, this funny and fresh picture book is perfect for fans of Grumpy Monkey and The Bad Seed and will be an instant favorite.

      A Rainy Day Story

      by Ruth Calderon

      Mar 2021

      Religious Books Elementary

      Rabbi Hanina feels sorry for himself when he becomes wet, cold and muddy from the rain. But when he goes inside his house—where he is warm, dry and happy—he feels selfish, knowing the parched earth needs the rain, and he learns a lesson about his place in the world.

      Cougar Crossing: How Hollywood's Celebrity Cougar Helped Build a Bridge for City Wildlife

      by Meeg Pincus

      Mar 2021

      Nonfiction Early Elementary Plus

      Discover the amazing true story of P-22, the wild cougar living in Los Angeles, in this inspiring picture book.

      P-22, the famed “Hollywood Cougar,” was born in a national park near Los Angeles, California. When it was time for him to leave home and stake a claim to his own territory, he embarked on a perilous journey—somehow crossing sixteen lanes of the world’s worst traffic—to make his home in LA’s Griffith Park, overlooking the famed Hollywood sign. But Griffith Park is a tiny territory for a mountain lion, and P-22’s life has been filled with struggles.

      Residents of Los Angeles have embraced this brave cougar as their own and, along with the scientists monitoring P-22, raised money to build a wildlife bridge across Highway 101 to help cougars and other wildlife safely expand their territories and build new homes—ensuring their survival for years to come.

      The Beak Book

      by Robin Page

      Mar 2021

      Nonfiction Early Elementary

      From Caldecott Honor illustrator Robin Page comes this striking picture book exploring the fascinating and surprising ways different kinds of birds use their unique beaks.

      Birds around the world have so many amazing kinds of beaks! There are short beaks and long beaks, straight beaks and curved beaks, flat beaks and even spoon-shaped beaks. But what do all of these beaks do?

      Discover how beaks of different shapes and sizes are adapted to help birds sip nectar, make nests, battle for mates, and more!

      Un trineo para Gabo (A Sled for Gabo)

      by Emma Otheguy

      Mar 2021

      Primary Spanish

      The Spanish language edition of this heartwarming classic in the making about a young boy who is in a new town and doesn’t have much, but with the help of a loving community discovers the joys of his first snowy day.

      Jump At the Sun: The True Life Tale of Unstoppable Storycatcher Zora Neale Hurston

      by Alicia D. Williams

      Mar 2021

      Arts Elementary Plus

      From the Newbery Honor–winning author of Genesis Begins Again comes a shimmering picture book that shines the light on Zora Neale Hurston, the extraordinary writer and storycatcher extraordinaire who changed the face of American literature.

      Zora was a girl who hankered for tales like bees for honey. Now, her mama always told her that if she wanted something, “to jump at de sun”, because even though you might not land quite that high, at least you’d get off the ground. So Zora jumped from place to place, from the porch of the general store where she listened to folktales, to Howard University, to Harlem. And everywhere she jumped, she shined sunlight on the tales most people hadn’t been bothered to listen to until Zora. The tales no one had written down until Zora. Tales on a whole culture of literature overlooked…until Zora. Until Zora jumped.
      « 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.