Find Books

Book Results

Advanced Search

      Clear All 

      Mary Tudor “Bloody Mary”

      by Gretchen Maurer

      Series Nonfiction
      Social Studies Grades 6-8

      $18.95 Special Order
      JLG offers this title because it is in the same series, The Thinking Girl’s Treasury of Dastardly Dames, as Marie Antoinette “Madame Deficit”, which is the June 2012 JLG Selection for the Series Nonfiction Level: Social Studies 6–8. For more information about this level or Junior Library Guild service, please contact your account rep or call us at 800.491.0174.

      Please note: This title is available by special order only and cannot be used as a substitution or replacement for JLG Reading Level or SLJ Series Nonfiction Level books. Orders for this title cannot be cancelled.

      Samuel Morse, That's Who!: The Story of the Telegraph and Morse Code

      by Tracy Nelson Maurer

      Sep 2019

      Nonfiction Elementary Plus

      Back in the 1800s, information traveled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that’s who! Who traveled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions—only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that’s who!
      This dynamic and subtsantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta's popular inventor series.
      ,br> Time line with photographs. Further information about Samuel Morse, telegraphs, and Morse code. Bibliography. Author’s note. Full-color illustrations were created with pencil and charcoal and colored digitally.

      John Deere, That’s Who!

      by Tracy Nelson Maurer

      May 2017

      Nonfiction Elementary Plus

      Beautiful illustrations—including spectacular landscapes—reflect the time period and bring John Deere's remarkable story to life. Glossary. Facts about John Deere and his company. Bibliography. Full-color illustrations were created "using acrylic on plywood and a unique combination of stains and glazes."

      Using Road Maps and GPS

      by Tracy Nelson Maurer

      Mar 2017

      Series Nonfiction
      Social Studies Grades 3-5

      Out of stock
      Ever wonder what route would get you from coast to coast the fastest? Or where to find camping spots on a road trip? Road maps and GPS give details about routes and sites. But how do you use them? And how can you make the most of these tools to get the information you need? Free Online Content, Full-Color Illustrations, Full-Color Photographs, Further Reading, Glossary, Index, Maps, Sidebars, Table of Contents.

      Using Topographic Maps

      by Tracy Nelson Maurer

      Series Nonfiction
      Social Studies Grades 3-5

      $22.99 Special Order
      Want to know just how tall Mount Everest is? Or what the city of Denver’s elevation is? Then look at a topographic map! These maps use lines to show the height and shape of Earth’s surface. But how do you read the lines? And what other features do these maps have? Read on to learn the ins and outs of topographic maps!

      Using Economic and Resource Maps

      by Tracy Nelson Maurer

      Series Nonfiction
      Social Studies Grades 3-5

      $22.99 Special Order
      Ever wonder what crops grow in North Carolina? Or which state park is nearest to your home? Economic and resource maps show what natural resources are in a place and how people in that place earn money. They can also include data about industries. But how do you use these maps? And what goes into the process of creating them? Read on to become a map whiz!
      « 1 »
      Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.