Dory and the Real True Friend

By: Abby Hanlon

Dory’s brother and sister’s advice to Dory about school? “Just try not to imagine things!” But when she describes her new friend as “extremely poufy,” they don’t think she listened. Black-and-white illustrations.

ISBN: 9780525428664

JLG Release: Aug 2015


Sensitive Areas: No sensitive areas
Topics: Imagination , Imaginary playmates , Schools , Friendship , Brothers and sisters , Family life

$5.00  Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Independent Readers

Grades 2-4

12 titles/year

$183.00/year

Awards & Honors

2015 Cybils Awards Nomination, Early Chapter Books

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Booklist, The Horn Book Guide, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

[STARRED REVIEW]
Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it’s time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her
[STARRED REVIEW]
Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it’s time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her age who has an amazing imagination just like Dory seems like a good option. But Rosabelle doesn’t seem to want to spend any time with her. Can Dory win her over? What will happen when Mrs. Gobble Gracker gets in the way? The story is well written, humorous, and engaging. The illustrations are amazingly detailed and complement the text well. The characters are fairly well developed and will grab young readers. Fans of Annie Barrows’s “Ivy and Bean” (Chronicle), Barbara Park’s “Junie B. Jones” (Random), and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the “Dory” series. VERDICT A great addition to any library collection.—Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT

Book Details

ISBN

9780525428664

First Release

August 2015

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

E

Trim Size

5 1/2" x 7 1/2"

Page Count

160

Accelerated Reader

Level 3.2; Points: 1;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 2.8; Points: 4;

Lexile

Level 610L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Dial

Potentially Sensitive Areas

No sensitive areas

Topics

Imagination, Imaginary playmates, Schools, Friendship, Brothers and sisters, Family life,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Titles in Series: Dory Fantasmagory

Independent Readers

$5.00
Out of stock

Independent Readers

$15.25

Independent Readers

$12.75

Dory Fantasmagory

by Abby Hanlon

Independent Readers

$14.99

Dory Dory Black Sheep

by Abby Hanlon

Independent Readers Plus

$9.00
Out of stock

Standard Correlations

Recommended Titles From Independent Readers

Independent Readers

$15.25

Independent Readers

$15.25

Independent Readers

$15.25

Megabat and Fancy Cat

by Anna Humphrey

Independent Readers

$15.25
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.