Truth in Sight: Cici: A Fairy’s Tale #2

By: Cori Doerrfeld

Illustrator: Tyler Page

Part-human, part-fairy Cici works to figure out her newfound powers and her place at school. Full-color illustrations.

ISBN: 9781467761536

JLG Release: Nov 2016


Sensitive Areas: No sensitive areas
Topics: Graphic novels , Fairies , Magic , Schools , Friendship , Hispanic Americans

$17.05  Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

Grades 2-6

14 titles/year

$238.70/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Cici is adjusting to her parents’ divorce and her newly acquired fairy magic. She spends her weekends at her dad’s house with her younger sister, Sofia, who cries the entire time, and her days at school lonely after having a falling out with her best friend. Cici gets to know Kendra, the daughter of the man her mother is seeing. Resentf Cici is adjusting to her parents’ divorce and her newly acquired fairy magic. She spends her weekends at her dad’s house with her younger sister, Sofia, who cries the entire time, and her days at school lonely after having a falling out with her best friend. Cici gets to know Kendra, the daughter of the man her mother is seeing. Resentful because she believes that Kendra’s life is perfect, Cici plays a mean trick on the other girl, distorting the features on Kendra’s beloved doll. This alters Kendra’s appearance in a way that only Cici and other fairies can see, which leads the protagonist to believe that it isn’t causing any lasting harm. When Cici’s grandmother discovers the magical misdeeds, she uses the moment to teach the girl an important lesson about her magic. The themes of divorce, friendship, and the implications of magic will resonate with kids. Spanish language is peppered throughout the text, and the vibrant cartoon illustrations give readers insight into the characters’ inner lives. VERDICT Fans of Ashley Spires’s “Binky” books and Victoria Jamieson’s new series “Pets on the Loose!” will be ready to tackle this next. A wonderful addition to a must-have series.—Samantha Lumetta, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, OH

Book Details

ISBN

9781467761536

First Release

November 2016

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

Trim Size

7" x 9"

Page Count

48

Accelerated Reader

Level 2.1; Points: 0.5;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 2.7; Points: 3;

Lexile

Level GN510L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Library edition

Publisher

Graphic Universe

Potentially Sensitive Areas

No sensitive areas

Topics

Graphic novels, Fairies, Magic, Schools, Friendship, Hispanic Americans,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Titles in Series: Cici: A Fairy’s Tale

Graphic Novels Elementary

$16.75
Out of stock

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05
Out of stock

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$12.75
Out of stock

Standard Correlations

Recommended Titles From Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

This Was Our Pact

by Ryan Andrews

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.55

The Worst Book Ever

by Elise Gravel

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Pilu of the Woods

by Mai K. Nguyen

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.