The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo

By: Drew Weing

A fresh and funny take on the age-old battle between kids and closet-dwelling monsters. Full-color illustrations.

ISBN: 9781626723399

JLG Release: Dec 2016


Sensitive Areas: No sensitive areas
Topics: Graphic novels , Mystery and detective stories , Monsters , Supernatural themes , City settings

$12.00   $9.75 Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

Grades 2-6

14 titles/year

$238.70/year

Awards & Honors

The Kirkus Prize 2016 Nominee, Young Readers
Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2016, Middle-Grade

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews*, Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

When Charles and his parents move to Echo City, their new home is a mostly abandoned apartment building where the family can live for free while doing repairs. The boy is less than thrilled about his rundown surroundings but completely undone by the monster he sees in his room at night. A new friend puts him in touch with Margo Maloo, a young ̶ When Charles and his parents move to Echo City, their new home is a mostly abandoned apartment building where the family can live for free while doing repairs. The boy is less than thrilled about his rundown surroundings but completely undone by the monster he sees in his room at night. A new friend puts him in touch with Margo Maloo, a young “monster mediator” who introduces him to the troll”Marcus”who lives in his basement, and Charles’s opinion of life in Echo City skyrockets. Other stories in the volume involve a lonely, mischievous ghost and a kidnapped baby ogre whose mother thinks Charles is responsible for her child going missing. Throughout, tough, mysterious, motorbike-riding Margo tolerates Charles’s bumbling, enthusiastic presence, eventually agreeing to take him on as her assistant, a move that promises future adventures for lucky readers. Weing’s colorful drawings reward extended examination; Echo City is rife with monster life, and creepy crawlies turn up in the most unexpected places, but domestic scenes and the city streets also show the artist’s keen eye for details. VERDICT This charming graphic novel is ideal for fans of Luke Pearson and Noelle Stevenson.—Stephanie Klose, School Library Journal

Book Details

ISBN

9781626723399

First Release

December 2016

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 6"

Page Count

128

Accelerated Reader

Level 3; Points: 1;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 3.2; Points: 4;

Lexile

Level GN360L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

First Second

Potentially Sensitive Areas

No sensitive areas

Topics

Graphic novels, Mystery and detective stories, Monsters, Supernatural themes, City settings,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Titles in Series: The Creepy Casefiles of Margo

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$12.00
Out of stock

Standard Correlations

Recommended Titles From Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Click

by Kayla Miller

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Sanity & Tallulah

by Molly Brooks

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Aquicorn Cove

by Katie O'Neill

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.