Loading...
A Horse Named Sky

Series A Voice of the Wilderness Novel By Rosanne Parry
Illustrators Illustrated by Kirbi Fagan Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher HarperCollins Imprint HarperCollins ISBN

9780062995957

A Horse Named Sky

load
SKU
9780062995957J
A stand-alone companion to the New York Times and Indie bestsellers A Wolf Called Wander and A Whale of the Wild. Exiled from his band, a young, wild horse must find his way across treacherous terrain to reunite with his family after being captured for the Pony Express. A fast-paced survival story about wild horses, family bonds, and a changing environment.



Young colt Sky was born with the urge to run. Alongside his band, he moves across the range searching for fresh water and abundant grazing. But humans have begun to encroach on Sky’s homelands, bringing farming, mining, logging, and construction, and poisoning the water.



With fewer resources to share, Sky knows that he must leave if his family is to survive. He hopes that one day, he’ll be strong and brave enough to return and challenge the stallion to lead the herd. For now, being a lone wild horse in a vast landscape is not easy, and things get even more dangerous when Sky is captured and forced to run for the Pony Express. Now, against all odds, Sky must find a way to escape and reunite with his family.



A Horse Named Sky is the stand-alone companion novel to Rosanne Parry’s New York Times bestsellers A Wolf Called Wander and A Whale of the Wild. Chronicling the perils of westward expansion and the grueling Pony Express from the perspective of a wild horse, A Horse Named Sky is a gripping animal survival story about family, courage, trust, leadership, and loyalty. Impeccably researched and illustrated in black-and-white throughout, A Horse Named Sky is an excellent read-aloud for parents and teachers, and a wonderful choice for fans of DreamWork’s Spirit and Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty.



Information on wild horses in North America. Historical information on habitats, The Pony Express, and California Indian Act of 1850. Map. Author's note. Artist's note. Selected sources. Black-and-white
illustrations. Black-and-white photos.
More Information

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Intermediate Readers (Grades 3-5)

Intermediate Readers

Intermediate Readers (Grades 3-5)

For Grades 3-5

A wide variety of novels and accessible nonfiction for younger elementary readers who love a good story comprise this category of 12 books per year. The focus in these titles is primarily on the text, though some novels may feature illustration.

12 books per Year
$236.64 per Year
Interests

Chapter Books, Fiction, Transitional Readers

Like this book? Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE