JLG selects Caldecott & Newbery winners for 20 years

Every year, JLG’s Editorial team receives thousands of submissions from publishers; hopeful reps offering up their best upcoming books for our consideration, long before they’ve even gone to print. With only the words on these pages, our Editors identify those outstanding few that have what it takes to be a JLG Gold Standard Selection.

And, they know outstanding work when they see it.

Our renowned Editorial team has long been on the forefront of selecting books that go on not only to earn starred reviews and accolades—but to earn industry awards, honors and prestigious acclaim. Case in point: These astute Editors have selected the books that went on to earn Newbery and Caldecott Medals nearly every year for the last 20 years—as well as many of the Honor books.  

Before publication. Before the reviews. And, all without a crystal ball.

We’re particularly proud of this accomplishment due to the prestigious nature of these two awards. The Newbery Medal, first established in 1922, is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the “author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” First awarded in 1938 by the Association for Library Service to Children, The Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the most distinguished picture book for children.

Here’s a recap of the JLG selections that earned these top awards over the last two decades:

Newbery Medal Winners

2019 - Merci Suárez Changes Gears by Meg Medina (Candlewick Press) - Check out this webcast with Meg Medina)

2018 - Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly (Greenwillow/HarperCollins)

2017 - The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers/Workman)

2016 - Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña (G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers/Penguin)

2015 - The Crossover by Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

2014 - Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick Press)    

2012 - Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos (Farrar Straus Giroux)

2011 - Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool  (Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children's Books)

2010 - When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children's Books)

2009 - The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)    

2008 - Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz (Candlewick Press)

2007 - The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron (Simon & Schuster/Richard Jackson)

2005 - Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster)

2004 - The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick Press)

2003 - Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi (Disney-Hyperion Books for Children)

2002 - A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park (Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin) - JLG carries the Spanish translation

2000 - Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis (Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books)

Caldecott Medal Winners

2019 - Hello Lighthouse illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall (Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)

2018 - Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell (Feiwel and Friends/Macmillan)

2017 - Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat illustrated and written by Javaka Steptoe (Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)

2016 - Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear illustrated by Sophie Blackall, written by Lindsay Mattick (Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)

2014 - Locomotive illustrated and written by Brian Floca (Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing)

2013 - This Is Not My Hat illustrated and written by Jon Klassen (Candlewick Press)

2012 -A Ball for Daisy illustrated and written by Chris Raschka (Schwartz & Wade Books, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Random House, Inc.)

2011 - A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead (Neal Porter Books/Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan Children's Publishing Group)

2008 - The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic)

2001 - So You Want to Be President? illustrated by David Small, written by Judith St. George (Philomel Books)

It’s this track record—along with outstanding services and support—that is why more than 24,000 librarians trust JLG to assist with their collection development needs. Contact a Collection Development Expert to learn more or call 800-491-0174 to get started today.