Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Time for Kenny



written and illustrated by
Brian Pinkney

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCo
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780060735289
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Two-time Caldecott Honor artist and Coretta Scott King Medalist Brian Pinkney keeps the text simple, direct, and pitch-perfect for emerging readers. This vibrant, family-oriented picture book is full of boundless energy, action, and unlimited love. A timeless choice for fans of Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Christian Robinson, and Oge Mora.

Time for Kenny to get up and enjoy the day with his family! In four deceptively simple stories, Brian Pinkney guides readers through a young child’s day. First, Kenny must get dressed. Maybe he can wear his mom’s shoes? And his grandpa’s hat seems to fit perfectly on his head. Luckily, with the help of his family, Kenny finally gets his own favorite outfit on. Then he must overcome his fear of the monstrous vacuum cleaner, learn to play soccer with his big sister, and get ready for bedtime. Bright, fluid, exuberant illustrations and expert use of white space create a bold, accessible book for families to treasure and share. Rhythm, repetition, and clear, short sentences make Time for Kenny an excellent choice for emerging readers.Full-color illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

11" x 9"

Dewey

E

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2021

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Day. Family life. African Americans. Getting dressed. Fears. Vacuum cleaners. Soccer. Bedtime.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1–Kenny, a young boy of color who is three or four, has a busy day ahead of him, relayed in four short sections that introduce readers to the concept of chapters. Pinkney coordinates the background color of each introduction page with the main subject. In the initial section, Kenny gets ready with his mom, dad, and older sister to take his granddaddy to the bus. The mustard yellow introduction page matches Kenny’s toy school bus, as well as his granddaddy’s suit, signaling that the focus of this section is Kenny’s grandfather and the bus. This motif carries in the second section where Kenny, clutching a stuffed lion, worries that the seafoam green vacuum roaring to life might swallow him up, but his father is ready to save him with tickles. Next, Kenny’s older sister teaches him to play soccer. Pinkney’s signature fluid acrylic and India ink illustrations, swirling with color and energy, depict the dancing movement of the soccer ball flowing over Kenny’s body from his knees up to his head. In the final section as Kenny plays with his toy school bus and his mother brings the day to a close with a bedtime story. This family-focused story will interest mostly very young children in the early preschool years; however, the simple, clear text is also accessible to emerging readers. VERDICT Essential purchase for public library picture book shelves beside Puppy Truck and On the Ball.–Emily Brush, Novi P.L., MI

Horn Book

Four brief stories take us through young Kenny’s day as he gets dressed, has an encounter with a monster-like vacuum cleaner, learns “no hands!” soccer skills, and resists bedtime. Pinkney’s text is both spare and engagingly lively—and the clean font and page design and use of repetition make this an excellent choice for both emerging readers and preschoolers (think Watanabe’s How Do I Put It On?). Each chapter is introduced by a page of full color containing a brief introductory sentence or two (“Kenny doesn’t like the vacuum cleaner. It sleeps in the closet”; “Kenny’s bedtime is in five minutes. But Kenny is not tired”), nicely delineating the four sections. The situations are all ones to which young readers will relate—and they will cheer as Kenny emerges victorious each time (“Is Kenny dressed? Yes!”). The illustrations—in Pinkney’s signature swirly art, full of movement and energy—capture Kenny’s personality and emotions. They also portray, understatedly but definitely, the warmth of this family’s relationships: he and Daddy laugh together in a post-vacuum-cleaner tickling session; his sister high-fives him after his soccer lesson; his mother reads him a book at bedtime. Pinkney keeps a tight focus on Kenny, his family, and a few signature objects (particularly his yellow toy school bus and beloved stuffed animal Kitty), helping viewers to likewise focus as they spend the day with this delightful Black boy. MARTHA V. PARRAVANO

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1–Kenny, a young boy of color who is three or four, has a busy day ahead of him, relayed in four short sections that introduce readers to the concept of chapters. Pinkney coordinates the background color of each introduction page with the main subject. In the initial section, Kenny gets ready with his mom, dad, and older sister to take his granddaddy to the bus. The mustard yellow introduction page matches Kenny’s toy school bus, as well as his granddaddy’s suit, signaling that the focus of this section is Kenny’s grandfather and the bus. This motif carries in the second section where Kenny, clutching a stuffed lion, worries that the seafoam green vacuum roaring to life might swallow him up, but his father is ready to save him with tickles. Next, Kenny’s older sister teaches him to play soccer. Pinkney’s signature fluid acrylic and India ink illustrations, swirling with color and energy, depict the dancing movement of the soccer ball flowing over Kenny’s body from his knees up to his head. In the final section as Kenny plays with his toy school bus and his mother brings the day to a close with a bedtime story. This family-focused story will interest mostly very young children in the early preschool years; however, the simple, clear text is also accessible to emerging readers. VERDICT Essential purchase for public library picture book shelves beside Puppy Truck and On the Ball.–Emily Brush, Novi P.L., MI

Horn Book

Four brief stories take us through young Kenny’s day as he gets dressed, has an encounter with a monster-like vacuum cleaner, learns “no hands!” soccer skills, and resists bedtime. Pinkney’s text is both spare and engagingly lively—and the clean font and page design and use of repetition make this an excellent choice for both emerging readers and preschoolers (think Watanabe’s How Do I Put It On?). Each chapter is introduced by a page of full color containing a brief introductory sentence or two (“Kenny doesn’t like the vacuum cleaner. It sleeps in the closet”; “Kenny’s bedtime is in five minutes. But Kenny is not tired”), nicely delineating the four sections. The situations are all ones to which young readers will relate—and they will cheer as Kenny emerges victorious each time (“Is Kenny dressed? Yes!”). The illustrations—in Pinkney’s signature swirly art, full of movement and energy—capture Kenny’s personality and emotions. They also portray, understatedly but definitely, the warmth of this family’s relationships: he and Daddy laugh together in a post-vacuum-cleaner tickling session; his sister high-fives him after his soccer lesson; his mother reads him a book at bedtime. Pinkney keeps a tight focus on Kenny, his family, and a few signature objects (particularly his yellow toy school bus and beloved stuffed animal Kitty), helping viewers to likewise focus as they spend the day with this delightful Black boy. MARTHA V. PARRAVANO

ages 2-5
Pre-Kindergarten Plus
For ages 2-5

Eye-catching concept books and playful stories make this category perfect for one-on-one or group sharing. With 12 books per year, the fun will never stop.

14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year
Interests
Animals,Beginning Readers,Fiction,Nonfiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
ages 2-5
Pre-Kindergarten Plus
14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Pre-Kindergarten Plus

Vrooom, Vrooom!

by Mary Lyn Ray

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

August 2021

Hello, Moon

by Julie Downing

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

July 2021

Yes & No

by Elisha Cooper

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

June 2021

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.