Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Missing, Presumed Dead



by
Emma Berquist

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780062642813
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes, Language: Strong Language, Violence: Mild Violence, Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Alcohol Abuse
$7.20   $6.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

JLG Category

Mystery High Plus

With a touch, Lexi can sense how and when someone will die. Some say it’s a gift. But to Lexi it’s a curse—one that keeps her friendless and alone. All that changes when Lexi foresees the violent death of a young woman, Jane, outside a club. But Jane doesn’t go to the afterlife quietly. Her ghost remains behind, determined to hunt down her murderer, and she needs Lexi’s help. In life, Jane was everything Lexi is not—outgoing, happy, popular. But in death, all Jane wants is revenge. Lexi will do anything to help Jane, to make up for the fact that she didn’t—couldn’t—save Jane’s life, and to keep this beautiful ghost of a girl by her side for as long as possible.

Emma Berquist’s second novel is a haunting and atmospheric murder mystery that tackles themes of depression, loneliness, love, and identity. This high-concept novel is for fans of Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Tahereh Mafi’s "Shatter Me" series.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes, Language: Strong Language, Violence: Mild Violence, Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Alcohol Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

384

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

[Fic]

AR

4.2: points 10

Lexile

HL610L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2019

Book Genres


Topics

Ghosts. Psychic ability. Revenge. Murder. Magic.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal, Booklist

School Library Journal

Horror meets mystery in this supernatural whodunit for lovers of murder and suspense. Lexi is cursed with two abilities: she can interact with ghosts and can tell how someone is going to die through physical contact. This unusual combination of skills has led to extreme isolation, with her only contacts being other members of Los Angeles’s supernatural underground. By day she frequents mental hospitals and tries to keep her head above water financially. At night, she bartends and runs errands at one of the only paranormal bars in town. The “errands” are mostly putting ghosts to rest, not a bad job for someone who hates being around the living. Her community is shaken when murders start cropping up in their usually protective area and Lexi is unfortunate enough to run into one of the victims the night before she is murdered, drawing Lexi into the puzzle of who is killing and why. The combination of horror and mystery genres opens up the readership for this book, as does the LGBTQ+ character and the appealing sense of isolation that many teens struggle with. There is enough kissing and boy drama for those who prefer romance in their novels, and enough bodies and swearing for the readers who want fear and grittiness. Lexi’s kind relationship with her grandfather fleshes her out, taking her from a stock character to someone more three-dimensional. A fun, fast-paced read for students looking for a thrill.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Horror meets mystery in this supernatural whodunit for lovers of murder and suspense. Lexi is cursed with two abilities: she can interact with ghosts and can tell how someone is going to die through physical contact. This unusual combination of skills has led to extreme isolation, with her only contacts being other members of Los Angeles’s supernatural underground. By day she frequents mental hospitals and tries to keep her head above water financially. At night, she bartends and runs errands at one of the only paranormal bars in town. The “errands” are mostly putting ghosts to rest, not a bad job for someone who hates being around the living. Her community is shaken when murders start cropping up in their usually protective area and Lexi is unfortunate enough to run into one of the victims the night before she is murdered, drawing Lexi into the puzzle of who is killing and why. The combination of horror and mystery genres opens up the readership for this book, as does the LGBTQ+ character and the appealing sense of isolation that many teens struggle with. There is enough kissing and boy drama for those who prefer romance in their novels, and enough bodies and swearing for the readers who want fear and grittiness. Lexi’s kind relationship with her grandfather fleshes her out, taking her from a stock character to someone more three-dimensional. A fun, fast-paced read for students looking for a thrill.

Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up
Keep your high school readers turning pages with the riveting mysteries and spellbinding adventures in this 14-book category.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery High Plus

Mystery High Plus

September 2021

Mystery High Plus

September 2021

Pride and Premeditation

by Tirzah Price

Mystery High Plus

August 2021

The Initial Insult

by Mindy McGinnis

Mystery High Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.