A Thousand Beginnings and Endings: 15 Retellings of Asian Myths and Legends

By: Ellen Oh

Elsie Chapman

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.
Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.
Notes on the background of each myth being retold. Editors’ note. Brief author biographies.

ISBN: 9780062671158

JLG Release: Oct 2018


Sensitive Areas: Mild sexual themes, Strong language
Topics: Asian mythology , Asian tales , American short stories , Asian folklore , Fantasy , Short stories , Retellings , Anthologies

$17.30  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

Grades 9-12

14 titles/year

$249.90/year

Awards & Honors

Publishers Weekly Best Books - 2018
NPR’s Book Concierge - 2018

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

The Horn Book Magazine, Booklist, School Library Journal*, Publishers Weekly*, Kirkus Reviews*

Book Details

ISBN

9780062671158

First Release

October 2018

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

336

Accelerated Reader

Level 5.9; Points: 13;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 0; Points: 0;

Lexile

Level 840L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Greenwillow Bks.

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Mild sexual themes, Strong language

Topics

Asian mythology, Asian tales, American short stories, Asian folklore, Fantasy, Short stories, Retellings, Anthologies,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

Kingdom of Souls

by Rena Barron

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

Spin the Dawn

by Elizabeth Lim

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

The Kingdom

by Jess Rothenberg

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.