Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings: 15 Retellings of Asian Myths and Legends



by
Ellen Oh ,Elsie Chapman

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780062671158

Awards and Honors
Publishers Weekly Best Books - 2018
NPR’s Book Concierge - 2018
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes, Language: Strong Language
$7.20   $6.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.
Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.
Notes on the background of each myth being retold. Editors’ note. Brief author biographies.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes, Language: Strong Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.9: points 13

Lexile

840L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2018

Book Genres


Topics

Asian mythology. Asian tales. American short stories. Asian folklore. Fantasy. Short stories. Retellings. Anthologies.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

The Horn Book Magazine, Booklist, School Library Journal*, Publishers Weekly*, Kirkus Reviews*

Praise & Reviews

Grades 9-12
Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus
For Grades 9-12

Tales of unique and mysterious powers, strange new worlds, alternate realities, and dark fantasies await your high-school readers. They'll discover a new world monthly with the 12 books in this category.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9-12
Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

Broken Web

by Lori M. Lee

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

September 2021

Blood Like Magic

by Liselle Sambury

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

September 2021

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

August 2021

In Deeper Waters

by F. T. Lukens

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.