Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

One Jar of Magic



by
Corey Ann Haydu

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Katherine Tegen
Imprint
Print
ISBN
9780062689856
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Violence: Child Abuse
$16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Critically acclaimed author Corey Ann Haydu weaves a powerful, middle grade tale about a young girl in a magical town who believes she is destined to catch more jars of magic than anyone else on New Year's Day—only to catch just one tiny jar of magic. Perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.

Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special, just as magical, as the most revered man in town—her father. It feels like the whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join the town in their annual capturing of magic on New Year’s Day and become the person she was always meant to be.

But when the special day finally comes, Rose doesn’t capture the powerful magic. Or the most interesting magic. She barely captures one tiny jar of magic. So while everyone else celebrates their armfuls of jars, Rose has just the one jar—the least anyone has ever gotten.

Rose’s dad won’t talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong, but Rose is hearing whispers about people who aren’t meant for magic at all, and maybe that’s where she really belongs. Maybe if she’s away from all the jars of magic, and from her dad telling her who she’s meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what’s truly real in a world full of magic.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Violence: Child Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.6: points 10

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2021

Book Genres

Fiction

Topics

Identity (Philosophical concept). Fathers and daughters. Family secrets. Interpersonal relations. Friendship. Family life. Magic. Confidence. Competition.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-7–Expectation runs high for 12-year-old Rose Anders, whose father, Wendell, is the most successful magic-catcher in Belling Bright. His jars of trapped magic fill every closet. Rose, described as having blue eyes and brown curly hair, awaits her first magic-catching day with rising dread. Her friends Maddy, with blonde braids, and Ginger, whose appearance is not described, seem to be tiring of Rose’s incessant proclamations of her heir apparent status, while at home her father’s dodgy advice becomes overbearing, even as her brother Lyle and passive mother try to still its contentious waves. Magic-catching day does not go as planned for Rose, and she suffers an embarrassing letdown. Meeting a family who is “Not Meant for Magic” and dealing with her father’s ominous mood swings, Rose confronts the effect magic has on her family and community. Haydu’s work of magical realism evokes fraught emotions boiling just below the surface of Rose’s “perfect” life. Her first-person narration begins with a confident arrogance that slowly dissipates along with her father’s public geniality. The quirky joys a jar of magic can provide, like pink hair, rainbows, and bad weather, delicately balance against Rose’s descent from popularity into a near pariah. Rose’s visceral pain and her hard-earned agency will be deeply felt. While age appropriate, the story does contain possible triggers for domestic abuse survivors. ­VERDICT ­Readers who enjoy everyday magic, friendship ­stories, and family drama will be enchanted by this magic jar of a book.–Caitlin Augusta, Stratford Lib. Assoc., CT

Horn Book

Magic is a physical object in Haydu’s (Hand-Me-Down Magic, rev. 7/20) latest middle-grade novel, and the residents of the town of Belling Bright turn out to capture it in jars every New Year’s Day. On New Year’s Eve, Rose Alice Anders turns twelve, the age when residents are allowed to capture magic, and her famous father, known for capturing more magic than anyone else, is certain that she has a special connection to it, just as he does. But when Rose ends the day having filled just a single jar—and that only because of her older brother’s help—she has to deal with her father’s severe disappointment, which she’s spent most of her life deflecting. As Rose watches her friends make themselves beautiful and popular with their new supplies of magic, she starts to reevaluate magic’s importance as well as her relationship with her father. Readers who pick up on the emotional abuse from the book’s early pages (“when Dad’s the one in charge, you don’t say no”; “he doesn’t love when we do anything he doesn’t do”) may find Rose’s gradual realization a tad slow, but the novel will appeal to those who enjoy a quiet, emotion-driven fantasy. SARAH RETTGER

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-7–Expectation runs high for 12-year-old Rose Anders, whose father, Wendell, is the most successful magic-catcher in Belling Bright. His jars of trapped magic fill every closet. Rose, described as having blue eyes and brown curly hair, awaits her first magic-catching day with rising dread. Her friends Maddy, with blonde braids, and Ginger, whose appearance is not described, seem to be tiring of Rose’s incessant proclamations of her heir apparent status, while at home her father’s dodgy advice becomes overbearing, even as her brother Lyle and passive mother try to still its contentious waves. Magic-catching day does not go as planned for Rose, and she suffers an embarrassing letdown. Meeting a family who is “Not Meant for Magic” and dealing with her father’s ominous mood swings, Rose confronts the effect magic has on her family and community. Haydu’s work of magical realism evokes fraught emotions boiling just below the surface of Rose’s “perfect” life. Her first-person narration begins with a confident arrogance that slowly dissipates along with her father’s public geniality. The quirky joys a jar of magic can provide, like pink hair, rainbows, and bad weather, delicately balance against Rose’s descent from popularity into a near pariah. Rose’s visceral pain and her hard-earned agency will be deeply felt. While age appropriate, the story does contain possible triggers for domestic abuse survivors. ­VERDICT ­Readers who enjoy everyday magic, friendship ­stories, and family drama will be enchanted by this magic jar of a book.–Caitlin Augusta, Stratford Lib. Assoc., CT

Horn Book

Magic is a physical object in Haydu’s (Hand-Me-Down Magic, rev. 7/20) latest middle-grade novel, and the residents of the town of Belling Bright turn out to capture it in jars every New Year’s Day. On New Year’s Eve, Rose Alice Anders turns twelve, the age when residents are allowed to capture magic, and her famous father, known for capturing more magic than anyone else, is certain that she has a special connection to it, just as he does. But when Rose ends the day having filled just a single jar—and that only because of her older brother’s help—she has to deal with her father’s severe disappointment, which she’s spent most of her life deflecting. As Rose watches her friends make themselves beautiful and popular with their new supplies of magic, she starts to reevaluate magic’s importance as well as her relationship with her father. Readers who pick up on the emotional abuse from the book’s early pages (“when Dad’s the one in charge, you don’t say no”; “he doesn’t love when we do anything he doesn’t do”) may find Rose’s gradual realization a tad slow, but the novel will appeal to those who enjoy a quiet, emotion-driven fantasy. SARAH RETTGER

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High
For Grades 5-7

The perfect literary mix for your middle-grade readers. Featuring subject matter a bit more complex and multi-dimensional, this category is packed with captivating novels and fascinating nonfiction. Expect the 12 books offered in tis category to fly off the shelf.

12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High
12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High

Starfish

by Lisa Fipps

Upper Elementary & Junior High

June 2021

Of a Feather

by Dayna Lorentz

Upper Elementary & Junior High

May 2021

One Jar of Magic

by Corey Ann Haydu

Upper Elementary & Junior High

April 2021

Clues to the Universe

by Christina Li

Upper Elementary & Junior High

March 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.