Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Gallant



by
Victoria Schwab

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780062835772
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General , Discrimination: Disability , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Number one New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab spins a dark, original tale about our world—full of life—a world that mirrors it—haunted by death—and the manor that stands between them. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home—to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

Black-and-white illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General , Discrimination: Disability , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

7 4/5" x 6"

Dewey

F

AR

5.8: points 10

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2022

Book Genres

Ghost Story, Supernatural, Fantasy

Topics

Orphans. Boarding schools. Family secrets. Ghouls. Haunted houses. Memories. Journals. Diaries. Art. Drawings. Disabilities. Mutism. Bullying. Horror. Death. Suicide. Paranormal. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-Schwab uses a blend of Gothic, fantasy, and horror to create an unsettling story that reads like a cautionary folktale to beware the shadows. Olivia Prior spends her days at the Merilance School for Independent Girls reading her mother's journal and longing for a family. It seems her wish is granted when a long-lost uncle writes to her and calls her home. But when she arrives at Gallant, no one is expecting her, and her angry cousin, Matthew, just wants her to leave. When Olivia eventually finds herself in a warped mirror version of Gallant, she finds answers, too: what happened to her mother, who her father is, why she can see ghouls wherever she goes. She will have to make a choice; which version of Gallant will she choose? Will she stay and step into her role as a Prior, or will she stand behind the dark creature that rules the other Gallant? There is so much grief in this story: over losing family, home, and the way things were. Olivia is a protagonist who doesn't go out of her way to be likeable, but she still very much wants her found family to want her back. The Priors are white. Olivia cannot speak, and her cousin, Matthew, cannot read. VERDICT A must-buy for libraries where Holly Black, Neil Gaiman, Emily Lloyd-Jones, and other authors of creepy and unnerving tales circulate well.-Ness Shortley

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-Schwab uses a blend of Gothic, fantasy, and horror to create an unsettling story that reads like a cautionary folktale to beware the shadows. Olivia Prior spends her days at the Merilance School for Independent Girls reading her mother's journal and longing for a family. It seems her wish is granted when a long-lost uncle writes to her and calls her home. But when she arrives at Gallant, no one is expecting her, and her angry cousin, Matthew, just wants her to leave. When Olivia eventually finds herself in a warped mirror version of Gallant, she finds answers, too: what happened to her mother, who her father is, why she can see ghouls wherever she goes. She will have to make a choice; which version of Gallant will she choose? Will she stay and step into her role as a Prior, or will she stand behind the dark creature that rules the other Gallant? There is so much grief in this story: over losing family, home, and the way things were. Olivia is a protagonist who doesn't go out of her way to be likeable, but she still very much wants her found family to want her back. The Priors are white. Olivia cannot speak, and her cousin, Matthew, cannot read. VERDICT A must-buy for libraries where Holly Black, Neil Gaiman, Emily Lloyd-Jones, and other authors of creepy and unnerving tales circulate well.-Ness Shortley

Grades 5-8
Mystery Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

For gripping mystery and adventure, look no further than these riveting fiction and nonfiction books. Your middle school suspense seekers simply won't be able to tear themselves away from the page. And with 12 books offered yearly, the suspense never ends.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,History,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Mystery Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery Middle Plus

Mystery Middle Plus

January 2023

Black Bird, Blue Road

by Sofiya Pasternack

Mystery Middle Plus

December 2022

Mystery Middle Plus

November 2022

This Appearing House

by Ally Malinenko

Mystery Middle Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.