No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One

By: Paul Fleischman

Newbery Medalist Paul Fleischman considers how growing up with a father who was an award-winning author helped to shape and inspire his own career. Paul and Sid Fleischman are the only father-son Newbery pair in history, and life in the Fleischman home was extraordinary. Readers will feel like part of the family in this humorous and aspirational chronicle.

Part memoir, part travelogue (young Paul travels from California to New Hampshire by himself), part writing book, and part reflection on art and creativity, this inspirational book includes black-and-white photographs, as well as writing tips and prompts just right for budding authors. No Map, Great Trip is a great gift for young writers, language arts teachers, and for fans of Jack Prelutsky’s Pizza, Pigs, and Poetry, and Ralph Fletcher’s A Writer’s Notebook.

Black-and-white photographs.

ISBN: 9780062857453

JLG Release: Jan 2020


Sensitive Areas: None
Topics: Paul Fleischman (1952– ) , Sid Fleischman (1920–2010) , US authors , Santa Monica, California , Family life , Writing and writers , Memoir , Bicycle travel , Childhood , Biography and autobiography

$17.85  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Nonfiction Middle Plus

Grades 5-8

14 titles/year

$249.90/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist

Book Details

ISBN

9780062857453

First Release

January 2020

Genre

Nonfic

Dewey Classification

B

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

144

Accelerated Reader

Level 0; Points: 0;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 0; Points: 0;

Lexile

Level

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Greenwillow Bks.

Potentially Sensitive Areas

None

Topics

Paul Fleischman (1952– ), Sid Fleischman (1920–2010), US authors, Santa Monica, California, Family life, Writing and writers, Memoir, Bicycle travel, Childhood, Biography and autobiography,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Nonfiction Middle Plus

Nonfiction Middle Plus

$17.85

Nonfiction Middle Plus

$17.85

Nonfiction Middle Plus

$17.85

Nonfiction Middle Plus

$17.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.