Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Great Escapes #4, The: Survival in the Wilderness

By: Steven Otfinoski

Illustrator: James Bernardin

The fourth book in a thrilling historical fiction series based on real events—perfect for readers of I Survived! Follow three valiant Navy officers as they try to escape the harsh Canadian wilderness.

December 1920. Three US Navy lieutenants—Louis Kloor, Stephen Farrell, and Walter Hinton—boarded a hot air balloon for a routine training flight. But as the sun set, heavy rain and wind knocked the men off course, forcing an emergency landing deep within the snowy Canadian wilderness. And as the men searched for signs of civilization, they were overcome with freezing temperatures, starvation, and fatigue. To survive, Kloor, Farrell, and Hinton would have to go up against their greatest enemies yet—desperation and despair.

Map. “The History and Traditions of the Cree People.” Author's note. Selected bibliography. Black-and-white illustrations. 

ISBN: 9780062860453

JLG Release: Apr 2021


Series: Great Escapes
Sensitive Areas: Violence: General
Topics: Walter Hinton (c , 1888–1981) , Louis Kloor (1898–1971) , Stephen Farrell (1878–1946) , US Navy , Survival , Hot air balloons , Twentieth-century Canadian history , Cree Indians

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

Grades 6-12

12 titles/year

$144.60/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal

Gr 3-7–It’s December 1920, and three white naval officers are on a routine training flight in a balloon. However, due to inclement weather, their mission goes awry, and the men end up lost in the wilderness. Lieutenants Louis Kloor, Stephen Farrell, and Walter Hinton must learn to look past their differences and cooperate. Will they be able to Gr 3-7–It’s December 1920, and three white naval officers are on a routine training flight in a balloon. However, due to inclement weather, their mission goes awry, and the men end up lost in the wilderness. Lieutenants Louis Kloor, Stephen Farrell, and Walter Hinton must learn to look past their differences and cooperate. Will they be able to make it to Canada, find help, and find their way home? Or will the great outdoors, their arguments, and despair get the best of them? This well-written and effectively researched historical fiction novel is based on actual events and newspaper accounts. Otfinoski deftly weaves historical information through the plot; readers will learn more about Canadian geography, the role of carrier pigeons, the Cree people, ballooning, dogsleds, and the Hudson’s Bay Company, among other things. VERDICT This fourth installment in this exciting series will appeal to those who love adventure and survival stories; a solid choice for classroom use.–Margaret A. Robbins, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

Book Details

ISBN

9780062860453

First Release

April 2021

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

128

Accelerated Reader

N/A

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Harper

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Violence: General

Topics

Walter Hinton (c, 1888–1981), Louis Kloor (1898–1971), Stephen Farrell (1878–1946), US Navy, Survival, Hot air balloons, Twentieth-century Canadian history, Cree Indians,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Adventure

Titles in Series: Great Escapes

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05
Out of stock

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05
Out of stock

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05

$12.05
Out of stock

The Lost Boys of Sudan

by Jeff Burlingame

Series Nonfiction
Social Studies Grades 6-8

$12.00
Out of stock

Recommended Titles From Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

Rugby Rivals

by Mike Levitt

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05

Club Zoe: The Club

by Elizabeth Gordon

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

$12.05
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.