Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Great Escapes #4, The: Survival in the Wilderness


Series
Great Escapes

by
Steven Otfinoski
illustrated by
James Bernardin

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper
ISBN
9780062860453
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General
$14.46   $12.05
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

The fourth book in a thrilling historical fiction series based on real events—perfect for readers of I Survived! Follow three valiant Navy officers as they try to escape the harsh Canadian wilderness.

December 1920. Three US Navy lieutenants—Louis Kloor, Stephen Farrell, and Walter Hinton—boarded a hot air balloon for a routine training flight. But as the sun set, heavy rain and wind knocked the men off course, forcing an emergency landing deep within the snowy Canadian wilderness. And as the men searched for signs of civilization, they were overcome with freezing temperatures, starvation, and fatigue. To survive, Kloor, Farrell, and Hinton would have to go up against their greatest enemies yet—desperation and despair.Map. “The History and Traditions of the Cree People.” Author's note. Selected bibliography. Black-and-white illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

128

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2021

Book Genres

Adventure

Topics

Walter Hinton (c. 1888–1981). Louis Kloor (1898–1971). Stephen Farrell (1878–1946). US Navy. Survival. Hot air balloons. Twentieth-century Canadian history. Cree Indians.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 3-7–It’s December 1920, and three white naval officers are on a routine training flight in a balloon. However, due to inclement weather, their mission goes awry, and the men end up lost in the wilderness. Lieutenants Louis Kloor, Stephen Farrell, and Walter Hinton must learn to look past their differences and cooperate. Will they be able to make it to Canada, find help, and find their way home? Or will the great outdoors, their arguments, and despair get the best of them? This well-written and effectively researched historical fiction novel is based on actual events and newspaper accounts. Otfinoski deftly weaves historical information through the plot; readers will learn more about Canadian geography, the role of carrier pigeons, the Cree people, ballooning, dogsleds, and the Hudson’s Bay Company, among other things. VERDICT This fourth installment in this exciting series will appeal to those who love adventure and survival stories; a solid choice for classroom use.–Margaret A. Robbins, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 3-7–It’s December 1920, and three white naval officers are on a routine training flight in a balloon. However, due to inclement weather, their mission goes awry, and the men end up lost in the wilderness. Lieutenants Louis Kloor, Stephen Farrell, and Walter Hinton must learn to look past their differences and cooperate. Will they be able to make it to Canada, find help, and find their way home? Or will the great outdoors, their arguments, and despair get the best of them? This well-written and effectively researched historical fiction novel is based on actual events and newspaper accounts. Otfinoski deftly weaves historical information through the plot; readers will learn more about Canadian geography, the role of carrier pigeons, the Cree people, ballooning, dogsleds, and the Hudson’s Bay Company, among other things. VERDICT This fourth installment in this exciting series will appeal to those who love adventure and survival stories; a solid choice for classroom use.–Margaret A. Robbins, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

Grades 6-12
Hi-Lo PG Middle/High
For Grades 6-12

Entertaining, age-appropriate topics combined with short chapters and simple sentences make the 12 books in this category interesting and accessible to teens who struggle to read. For middle and high school students who prefer titles without edgy content.

12 books per Year
$144.60 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,ESL,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-12
Hi-Lo PG Middle/High
12 books per Year
$144.60 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

Truly Tyler

by Terri Libenson

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

September 2021
Out of stock

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

August 2021

The One Thing You'd Save

by Linda Sue Park

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

July 2021
Out of stock

Mr. Universe

by Arthur Slade

Hi-Lo PG Middle/High

June 2021
Out of stock
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.