Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Bea Is for Blended



by
Lindsey Stoddard

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper
ISBN
9780062878168
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Sexism , Language: Mild Language , Discrimination: Neurodivergence
$20.16   $16.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A winning story of girl power, family ties, and the importance of coming together to fight for what’s right, Lindsey Stoddard’s Bea is for Blended is an empowering middle grade novel for fans of Lisa Graff and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Bea and her mom have always been a two-person team. But now her mom is marrying Wendell, and their team is growing by three boys, two dogs, and a cat.

As if finding her place in her new blended family isn’t tough enough, Bea’s also facing her first year of middle school, where she finds out the girls are just a few players short of forming their first all-girls soccer team. Worried she’ll be crowded out of her house and the soccer field, Bea soon realizes that the bigger the team, the stronger the fight—and that for the girls to get what they deserve, they’re going to need a squad behind them.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Sexism , Language: Mild Language , Discrimination: Neurodivergence

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Stepfamilies. Soccer. Sexism. Middle schools. Moving households. Family life. Friendship. Female athletes.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4 Up–Bea’s life has centered on her mom, grandmother, and aunt Tam. Now she has to handle a stepdad and three stepbrothers, one of whom is her nemesis from school and the soccer field. Bea juggles complex emotions as she deals with moving, sharing her mom, and coping with Bryce, the stepbrother she tries to ignore. Bea’s old life revolved around the women in her family, her best friend Maximilian (who is neurodiverse), and her fame as a soccer star. She doesn’t need anything else, except the all-girls soccer team that her school has promised. However, more conflict is on the horizon, in the form of a new soccer-star neighbor girl and the school principal/soccer coach, who is not a fan of the spunky protagonist. A twist midway through includes a new soccer player who uses ­American Sign Language. Stoddard’s dialogue is ­readable, the story is well paced, and the characters are endearing. The character development highlights overlapping strengths and weaknesses among the various players, all building to create a rich community of schoolmates and family. Bea and Bryce slowly realize they have some common emotional bumps and bruises as they each grow in unexpected ways. Characters’ skin tones are not described. VERDICT A little bit coming of age, family drama, sports hype, and school shenanigans all rolled into one for an appealing read.–Linda Annable, Newport P.L., OR

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4 Up–Bea’s life has centered on her mom, grandmother, and aunt Tam. Now she has to handle a stepdad and three stepbrothers, one of whom is her nemesis from school and the soccer field. Bea juggles complex emotions as she deals with moving, sharing her mom, and coping with Bryce, the stepbrother she tries to ignore. Bea’s old life revolved around the women in her family, her best friend Maximilian (who is neurodiverse), and her fame as a soccer star. She doesn’t need anything else, except the all-girls soccer team that her school has promised. However, more conflict is on the horizon, in the form of a new soccer-star neighbor girl and the school principal/soccer coach, who is not a fan of the spunky protagonist. A twist midway through includes a new soccer player who uses ­American Sign Language. Stoddard’s dialogue is ­readable, the story is well paced, and the characters are endearing. The character development highlights overlapping strengths and weaknesses among the various players, all building to create a rich community of schoolmates and family. Bea and Bryce slowly realize they have some common emotional bumps and bruises as they each grow in unexpected ways. Characters’ skin tones are not described. VERDICT A little bit coming of age, family drama, sports hype, and school shenanigans all rolled into one for an appealing read.–Linda Annable, Newport P.L., OR

Grades 5-8
Sports Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

An action-packed level devoted exclusively to sports. These fiction and nonfiction selections are sure to be a hit with your middle-school sports fans. And the hits arrive each month with this 14 book category.

14 books per Year
$235.20 per Year
Interests
Biographies,Chapter Books/Novels,Diversity,Fiction,History,Nonfiction,Reluctant Readers,Realistic Fiction,Sports
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Sports Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$235.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Sports Middle Plus

Fast Pitch

by Nic Stone

Sports Middle Plus

November 2021

Much Ado about Baseball

by Rajani LaRocca

Sports Middle Plus

October 2021

Samira Surfs

by Rukhsanna Guidroz

Sports Middle Plus

October 2021

Bea Is for Blended

by Lindsey Stoddard

Sports Middle Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.