Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Sense and Second-Degree Murder



by
Tirzah Price

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper Teen
ISBN
9780062889836
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Crime: Drug Trafficking/Dealing , Violence: General , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion
$23.57   $19.64
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Mystery High Plus

Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three-book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy and Stalking Jack the Ripper. In Sense and Second-Degree Murder, aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood and her sister Marianne, a budding detective, work together to solve the mystery of their father’s murder.

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery that points to foul play, and the killer might be family. . .

Obviously, the girls must investigate. It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Crime: Drug Trafficking/Dealing , Violence: General , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

416

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.9: points 14

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2022

Book Genres

Romance, Detective Story

Topics

Murder. Opium. Sisters. Characters in literature. Sense and Sensibility. Mystery and detective stories. History of Great Britain, Regency era, 1811–1820.

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Price's second "Jane Austen Murder Mystery" is just as clever as the first (Pride and Premeditation), this time giving a murderous spin to Sense and Sensibility. This novel begins much the same as Jane Austen's classic, with the death of the Dashwood patriarch and their brother's inheriting everything. However, in this tale Elinor and Marianne discover that their father's death was a poisoning. Marianne, an apprentice detective following in her father's footsteps, and Elinor, an aspiring chemist, are the perfect duo to take on the case. Over the course of the investigation characters from the original novel appear, easily recognizable despite changes in circumstance for many of them, because Price expertly crafts their personalities to match the source material. The mystery is just complex enough to keep readers guessing without becoming frustrating, it revolves around opium, so the book may be better suited to more mature readers. A suspension of disbelief may be necessary due to the historical inaccuracies (explained in an author's note) regarding the Dashwood sisters' unladylike, but empowering, behavior. All characters are white. VERDICT A delightful reimagining of a classic that will be enjoyed by Jane Austen fans and mystery readers alike.-Mariah Smitala

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Price's second "Jane Austen Murder Mystery" is just as clever as the first (Pride and Premeditation), this time giving a murderous spin to Sense and Sensibility. This novel begins much the same as Jane Austen's classic, with the death of the Dashwood patriarch and their brother's inheriting everything. However, in this tale Elinor and Marianne discover that their father's death was a poisoning. Marianne, an apprentice detective following in her father's footsteps, and Elinor, an aspiring chemist, are the perfect duo to take on the case. Over the course of the investigation characters from the original novel appear, easily recognizable despite changes in circumstance for many of them, because Price expertly crafts their personalities to match the source material. The mystery is just complex enough to keep readers guessing without becoming frustrating, it revolves around opium, so the book may be better suited to more mature readers. A suspension of disbelief may be necessary due to the historical inaccuracies (explained in an author's note) regarding the Dashwood sisters' unladylike, but empowering, behavior. All characters are white. VERDICT A delightful reimagining of a classic that will be enjoyed by Jane Austen fans and mystery readers alike.-Mariah Smitala

Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up
If your high school readers love a spellbinding adventure story or a riveting mystery, our MH Category is the ticket. This category contains 12 gripping fiction and nonfiction titles per year, ensuring that new adventures will keep on coming.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery High Plus

Into the Sublime

by Kate A. Boorman

Mystery High Plus

October 2022

We Made It All Up

by Margot Harrison

Mystery High Plus

October 2022

Katzenjammer

by Francesca Zappia

Mystery High Plus

September 2022

Mystery High Plus

September 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.