Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Ghoul Next Door



by
Cullenn Bunn
illustrated by
Cat Farris

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
HarperAlley
ISBN
9780062896100
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Illustrations/Images: Disturbing Imagery , Social Issue: Cult/Occult , Violence: Torture
$20.76   $17.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

New York Times bestselling writer Cullen Bunn and acclaimed artist Cat Farris have created a fun, spooky, full-color middle grade graphic novel about a supernatural adventure and friendships that go beyond the grave! Perfect for fans of Ghosts and Hilo!

Cullen Bunn and Cat Farris deliver a spooky delight that will have readers at the edge of their seats and laughing at the same time!

Eleven-year-old Grey lives in the legend-haunted New England town of Ander’s Landing, and he can’t help but feel like a pair of eyes is watching his every move. He discovers odd, gruesome bits and pieces from the graveyard that are left for him as gifts, like art carved from bones or jewelry made from (hopefully not human) remains. Soon, Grey is caught up in something bigger than he could ever have imagined. He finds himself drawn into a strange mystery involving a race of reclusive subterranean creatures—ghouls, the eaters of the dead!Full-color illustrations created using Clip Studio Paint, ink, watercolor, and mixed media paper. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Illustrations/Images: Disturbing Imagery , Social Issue: Cult/Occult , Violence: Torture

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

200

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2021

Book Genres

Graphic Novels, Supernatural

Topics

Paranormal. Mystery. Witches. Occult. Ghouls. Ghosts. The undead. Friendship. New England. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-8–When Grey takes a shortcut to school through the cemetery, he trips and loses a school project in a mysterious hole in the ground. In the days that follow, creepy events plague him until he finally discovers that he has made contact with a ghoul named Lavinia. While the two forge a friendship, Grey’s human friend Marshall becomes increasingly unsettled at their relationship. Unfortunately, ghouls are not meant to befriend humans, so Lavinia and Grey have to save Marshall from a terrifying fate in the underworld. The fast-paced story offers just the right balance of scares and intrigue. The characters will resonate with young readers also grappling with difficulties with school, friendships, and parents. The full-color illustrations are marvelous, and the journey to the underworld is awash in eerie greens and blues. The dialogue between the characters is natural and moves quickly. While this seems to be a stand-alone offering, readers will want more stories from this spooky crew. Grey is Asian; Marshall is white. VERDICT Fans of macabre tales, such as the “Amulet” series or Vera Brosgol’s Anya’s Ghost, will delight in this charming comic.–Ellen Conlin, ­Naperville P.L., IL

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-8–When Grey takes a shortcut to school through the cemetery, he trips and loses a school project in a mysterious hole in the ground. In the days that follow, creepy events plague him until he finally discovers that he has made contact with a ghoul named Lavinia. While the two forge a friendship, Grey’s human friend Marshall becomes increasingly unsettled at their relationship. Unfortunately, ghouls are not meant to befriend humans, so Lavinia and Grey have to save Marshall from a terrifying fate in the underworld. The fast-paced story offers just the right balance of scares and intrigue. The characters will resonate with young readers also grappling with difficulties with school, friendships, and parents. The full-color illustrations are marvelous, and the journey to the underworld is awash in eerie greens and blues. The dialogue between the characters is natural and moves quickly. While this seems to be a stand-alone offering, readers will want more stories from this spooky crew. Grey is Asian; Marshall is white. VERDICT Fans of macabre tales, such as the “Amulet” series or Vera Brosgol’s Anya’s Ghost, will delight in this charming comic.–Ellen Conlin, ­Naperville P.L., IL

Grades 5-8
Graphic Novels Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Book-length narratives presented in comic book style, graphic novels foster both visual and verbal comprehension skills while exposing readers to interesting dialogue and satire, as well as affirming diversity.

JLG's selection of these unique books, some of them only published in softcover, are ideal for attracting reluctant readers and introducing them to literature they might not encounter otherwise. You may find that the 14 books in this category will turn your reluctant readers into eager readers.

14 books per Year
$242.20 per Year
Interests
Diversity,ESL,Fiction,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Funny/Humorous
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Graphic Novels Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$242.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Graphic Novels Middle Plus

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

November 2021

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

October 2021

The Accursed Vampire

by Madeline McGrane

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

October 2021

The Ghoul Next Door

by Cullenn Bunn

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.