Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Peacock Detectives



by
Carly Nugent

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper
ISBN
9780062896704
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Gun Violence, News report of gun violence
$12.90   $10.75
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Her sharp eye for detail is why the Hudsons from across the street call her every time their pet peacocks, William Shakespeare and Virginia, wander away. But there are some things even the greatest peacock detective can’t figure out, like why her best friend is so angry lately; why her older sister is cutting her hair off; or why her parents are acting like they don’t know each other anymore. Cassie is an expert at solving things. But what’s a master detective to do when her whole world is changing, and all the answers are out of reach?

Perfect for fans of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street and Waiting for Normal, this charming debut from Carly Nugent is full of heart, humor, and more than a few surprises.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Gun Violence, News report of gun violence

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

288

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.5: points 9

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2020

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Australia. Peacocks. Writers. Family life. Divorce. Depression. Friendship. Mystery and detective stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Eleven-year-old Cassie is an expert when it comes to tracking down her neighbors’ peacocks, which go missing frequently. She’s less confident, however, when it comes to dealing with changes in her family. Her older sister is making choices that Cassie doesn’t understand, her beloved grandfather is ill, her father is sinking into depression, and her mother seems to be separating herself from the family. Even her best friend Jonas is acting strange and moody. Can Cassie unravel the mysteries she’s facing in life, or will they prove to be too much for her detective skills? This Australian import has plenty of quirky charm. Though the mystery element is slight, there’s plenty of character development, and the book touches on many family and friendship situations with which readers will empathize. Fans of Sheila Turnage and Susan Patron are a natural audience for this story. Purchase where there’s a need for realistic fiction dealing with family issues.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Eleven-year-old Cassie is an expert when it comes to tracking down her neighbors’ peacocks, which go missing frequently. She’s less confident, however, when it comes to dealing with changes in her family. Her older sister is making choices that Cassie doesn’t understand, her beloved grandfather is ill, her father is sinking into depression, and her mother seems to be separating herself from the family. Even her best friend Jonas is acting strange and moody. Can Cassie unravel the mysteries she’s facing in life, or will they prove to be too much for her detective skills? This Australian import has plenty of quirky charm. Though the mystery element is slight, there’s plenty of character development, and the book touches on many family and friendship situations with which readers will empathize. Fans of Sheila Turnage and Susan Patron are a natural audience for this story. Purchase where there’s a need for realistic fiction dealing with family issues.

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
For Grades 5-7

A great way to ensure more titles for your middle-grade readers-with 12 additional popular B titles arriving at your door every year.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

Hollow Chest

by Brita Sandstrom

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

September 2021

Not All Heroes

by Josephine Cameron

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

September 2021

One Small Hop

by Madelyn Rosenberg

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

August 2021

Where We Used to Roam

by Jenn Bishop

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.