Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Peacock Detectives

By: Carly Nugent

Her sharp eye for detail is why the Hudsons from across the street call her every time their pet peacocks, William Shakespeare and Virginia, wander away. But there are some things even the greatest peacock detective can’t figure out, like why her best friend is so angry lately; why her older sister is cutting her hair off; or why her parents are acting like they don’t know each other anymore. Cassie is an expert at solving things. But what’s a master detective to do when her whole world is changing, and all the answers are out of reach?

Perfect for fans of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street and Waiting for Normal, this charming debut from Carly Nugent is full of heart, humor, and more than a few surprises.

ISBN: 9780062896704

JLG Release: May 2020


Sensitive Areas: Violence: Gun Violence, News report of gun violence
Topics: Australia , Peacocks , Writers , Family life , Divorce , Depression , Friendship , Mystery and detective stories

$16.30  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

Grades 5-7

14 titles/year

$228.20/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Eleven-year-old Cassie is an expert when it comes to tracking down her neighbors’ peacocks, which go missing frequently. She’s less confident, however, when it comes to dealing with changes in her family. Her older sister is making choices that Cassie doesn’t understand, her beloved grandfather is ill, her father is sinking into depression, a Eleven-year-old Cassie is an expert when it comes to tracking down her neighbors’ peacocks, which go missing frequently. She’s less confident, however, when it comes to dealing with changes in her family. Her older sister is making choices that Cassie doesn’t understand, her beloved grandfather is ill, her father is sinking into depression, and her mother seems to be separating herself from the family. Even her best friend Jonas is acting strange and moody. Can Cassie unravel the mysteries she’s facing in life, or will they prove to be too much for her detective skills? This Australian import has plenty of quirky charm. Though the mystery element is slight, there’s plenty of character development, and the book touches on many family and friendship situations with which readers will empathize. Fans of Sheila Turnage and Susan Patron are a natural audience for this story. Purchase where there’s a need for realistic fiction dealing with family issues.

Book Details

ISBN

9780062896704

First Release

May 2020

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

288

Accelerated Reader

Level 5.5; Points: 9;

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Harper

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Violence: Gun Violence, News report of gun violence

Topics

Australia, Peacocks, Writers, Family life, Divorce, Depression, Friendship, Mystery and detective stories,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

Echo Mountain

by Lauren Wolk

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30

Wink

by Rob Harrell

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30

Show Me a Sign

by Ann Clare LeZotte

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.