Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The In-Between



by
Rebecca K. S. Ansari

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Walden Pond Press
ISBN
9780062916099
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

The acclaimed author of The Missing Piece of Charlie O’Reilly returns with a dark, twisty adventure about two kids who discover a hundred-year-old unsolved mystery—and that the quiet, strange girl next door may be the key to unraveling it.

Cooper is lost. Ever since his father left their family three years ago, he has become distant from his friends, constantly annoyed by his little sister, Jess, and completely fed up with the pale, creepy rich girl who moved in next door, who won’t stop staring at him.

So when Cooper learns of an unsolved mystery his sister has discovered online, he welcomes the distraction. It’s the tale of a deadly train crash that occurred a hundred years ago in which one young boy among the dead was never identified. The only distinguishing mark on him was a strange insignia on his suit coat, a symbol no one had seen before or since. Jess is fascinated by the mystery of the unknown child—because she’s seen the insignia. And, she tells Cooper, he has too.

It’s the symbol on the jacket of the girl next door.

As they uncover more information—and mounting evidence of the girl’s seemingly impossible connection to the tragedy—Cooper and Jess begin to wonder if a similar disaster could be heading to their hometown. Thus begins an unforgettable adventure about the forgotten among us and what it means to be seen.Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2021

Book Genres

Mystery, Supernatural

Topics

Neighbors. Divorce. Railroad accidents. Chicago, Illinois. Brothers and sisters. Family life. Diabetes. Friendship.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

With an intriguing mystery and a heartwarming tale of friendship wrapped inside a ghost story, this is a sure hit. Cooper is dealing with his parents’ divorce—his father has left him, his mother, and his sister for a new family. Cooper has to help his mother take care of his sister and monitor her blood sugar. Since the divorce, his friendships have fallen apart; Cooper has become more comfortable alone, seeking constant solitude and writing in his journal. Everything changes when a mysterious girl moves into an abandoned house nearby. She hardly speaks but always stares at him. When Cooper realizes the logo on her uniform is connected to major disasters throughout the world, he is drawn into a larger mystery. Could this strange girl have something to do with the disasters? Does her appearance mean a terrible disaster is coming here? Ansari knows how to balance a fast-paced plot with well-developed characters. She perfectly uses the “Mystery Box” technique by setting up questions about the eerie girl, driving readers’ desire to keep turning pages. Cooper grows and develops friendships that will stay with him forever. The plot twist will hit readers in the gut, and makes this book unforgettable. VERDICT With a memorable twist and an awesome mystery, this title is too good to be missed. Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and “Goosebumps” grads looking for something a little spookier.–Patrick Tierney, Pascoag P.L., RI

Horn Book

Since his father left the family, Cooper has floundered in his friendships and schoolwork. Into this void comes a mystery he is all too happy to distract himself with. Cooper and his little sister Jess discover that the odd new girl in the house across the alley wears the same crest on her jacket as was found on the clothing of victims of several disasters, including a British train accident, a South Korean shopping mall collapse, and the Triangle Shirtwaist fire. How are they connected? How does Cooper’s new school friend fit in? Cooper and Jess discover a world between life and death where two children are stranded, on a quest that remains a mystery until the very end of the novel. Ansari (The Missing Piece of Charlie O’Reilly) writes an engaging fantasy/mystery/family story. Cooper, like the ghosts Elena and Gus, is living somewhere “in between,” stuck with one failed vision of his family and unable to create a new one without help. The fantasy builds around historical mysteries and speeds up as it approaches the climax, when readers realize that yet another disaster is due and that Cooper and Jess may be two of the victims. MAEVE VISSER KNOTH

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

With an intriguing mystery and a heartwarming tale of friendship wrapped inside a ghost story, this is a sure hit. Cooper is dealing with his parents’ divorce—his father has left him, his mother, and his sister for a new family. Cooper has to help his mother take care of his sister and monitor her blood sugar. Since the divorce, his friendships have fallen apart; Cooper has become more comfortable alone, seeking constant solitude and writing in his journal. Everything changes when a mysterious girl moves into an abandoned house nearby. She hardly speaks but always stares at him. When Cooper realizes the logo on her uniform is connected to major disasters throughout the world, he is drawn into a larger mystery. Could this strange girl have something to do with the disasters? Does her appearance mean a terrible disaster is coming here? Ansari knows how to balance a fast-paced plot with well-developed characters. She perfectly uses the “Mystery Box” technique by setting up questions about the eerie girl, driving readers’ desire to keep turning pages. Cooper grows and develops friendships that will stay with him forever. The plot twist will hit readers in the gut, and makes this book unforgettable. VERDICT With a memorable twist and an awesome mystery, this title is too good to be missed. Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and “Goosebumps” grads looking for something a little spookier.–Patrick Tierney, Pascoag P.L., RI

Horn Book

Since his father left the family, Cooper has floundered in his friendships and schoolwork. Into this void comes a mystery he is all too happy to distract himself with. Cooper and his little sister Jess discover that the odd new girl in the house across the alley wears the same crest on her jacket as was found on the clothing of victims of several disasters, including a British train accident, a South Korean shopping mall collapse, and the Triangle Shirtwaist fire. How are they connected? How does Cooper’s new school friend fit in? Cooper and Jess discover a world between life and death where two children are stranded, on a quest that remains a mystery until the very end of the novel. Ansari (The Missing Piece of Charlie O’Reilly) writes an engaging fantasy/mystery/family story. Cooper, like the ghosts Elena and Gus, is living somewhere “in between,” stuck with one failed vision of his family and unable to create a new one without help. The fantasy builds around historical mysteries and speeds up as it approaches the climax, when readers realize that yet another disaster is due and that Cooper and Jess may be two of the victims. MAEVE VISSER KNOTH

Grades 5-8
Mystery Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

For gripping mystery and adventure, look no further than these riveting fiction and nonfiction books. Your middle school suspense seekers simply won't be able to tear themselves away from the page. And with 12 books offered yearly, the suspense never ends.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,History,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Mystery Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery Middle Plus

The Messengers: Greystone Secrets #3

by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Mystery Middle Plus

August 2021

Mystery Middle Plus

July 2021

Deadman's Castle

by Iain Lawrence

Mystery Middle Plus

June 2021

The In-Between

by Rebecca K. S. Ansari

Mystery Middle Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.