Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero



by
Saadia Faruqi

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Quill Tree
ISBN
9780062943255
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Religious , Violence: Mild Violence , Violence: Child Abuse
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A powerful and relevant story from the author of A Thousand Questions, about friendship, pride, grief, and standing up for what is right. The ideal next read for fans of Hena Khan, Jewell Parker Rhodes, and Varian Johnson—or for any young reader grappling with recent US history and current events.

Yusuf Azeem has spent all his life in the small town of Frey, Texas—and nearly that long waiting for the chance to participate in the regional robotics competition, which he just knows he can win.

Only, this year is going to be more difficult than he thought. Because this year is the twentieth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks—an anniversary that has everyone in his family on edge. After reading his uncle’s journal from that time, Yusuf feels like he almost understands what the nation’s fear and anger felt like.

With “Never Forget” banners everywhere and a hostile group of townspeople protesting the new mosque, Yusuf realizes that the anger hasn’t gone away. And soon, he will have to stand up to the bullies, with understanding, justice, and love.Author’s note. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Religious , Violence: Mild Violence , Violence: Child Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

368

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.6: points 10

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Dec 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Middle schools. Discrimination. US Muslims. Pakistani Americans. September 11 terrorist attacks, 2001. Family life. Journals. Texas. Bullying. Friendship. Robotics competitions.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 5-8
Realistic Fiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Stories with strong, relatable characters that portray believable contemporary or historical real-life experiences.

14 books per Year
$259.56 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Diversity,Fiction,History,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Realistic Fiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$259.56 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

Cuba in My Pocket

by Adrianna Cuevas

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

April 2022

Paradise on Fire

by Jewell Parker Rhodes

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

March 2022

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

February 2022

Born Behind Bars

by Padma Venkatraman

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

January 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.