Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

When You Look Like Us



by
Pamela N. Harris

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Quill Tree
Imprint
Print
ISBN
9780062945891
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse , Language: Strong Language
$17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Mystery High Plus

A timely, gripping YA debut perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson, about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—people think you’re trouble. No one looks twice at a missing black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister, Nicole, got too caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long now.

If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she’d be spending time with our grandma. If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list. It’s time to step up and do what the Newport News police department won’t.

Nic, I’m bringing you home.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse , Language: Strong Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

368

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2021

Book Genres

Fiction

Topics

Families. Brothers and sisters. Missing persons. Drug abuse. City life. Newport News, Virginia. Poverty. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Black teen Jay Murphy lives in Newport News, VA, with his sister and grandmother. Jay’s mother is in prison for drug-related offenses, and his father died from an illness when he was young. Jay is an excellent student and teaches Sunday school at his church. Jay’s sister, Nicole, goes to a party on a Thursday evening with her boyfriend and best friend and doesn’t return home. Jay tries to cover for her as much as possible but eventually turns to the police for help. After Jay realizes the police won’t be much help finding his missing sister, he teams up with his friend from church and embarks on a harrowing journey to find out what happened to Nicole. Harris begins this debut novel with an author’s note about her personal connections to the characters. Harris begins the first chapter with a vivid auditory description of Jay’s neighborhood that will hook readers. This is a high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. VERDICT Fans of Jason Reynolds and Nic Stone will devour this novel. A must for YA collections.–Michelle Kornberger, Havenview M.S., Memphis

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Black teen Jay Murphy lives in Newport News, VA, with his sister and grandmother. Jay’s mother is in prison for drug-related offenses, and his father died from an illness when he was young. Jay is an excellent student and teaches Sunday school at his church. Jay’s sister, Nicole, goes to a party on a Thursday evening with her boyfriend and best friend and doesn’t return home. Jay tries to cover for her as much as possible but eventually turns to the police for help. After Jay realizes the police won’t be much help finding his missing sister, he teams up with his friend from church and embarks on a harrowing journey to find out what happened to Nicole. Harris begins this debut novel with an author’s note about her personal connections to the characters. Harris begins the first chapter with a vivid auditory description of Jay’s neighborhood that will hook readers. This is a high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. VERDICT Fans of Jason Reynolds and Nic Stone will devour this novel. A must for YA collections.–Michelle Kornberger, Havenview M.S., Memphis

Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up
If your high school readers love a spellbinding adventure story or a riveting mystery, our MH Category is the ticket. This category contains 12 gripping fiction and nonfiction titles per year, ensuring that new adventures will keep on coming.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery High Plus

Our Last Echoes

by Kate Alice Marshall

Mystery High Plus

June 2021
Out of stock

Firekeeper's Daughter

by Angeline Boulley

Mystery High Plus

May 2021

When You Look Like Us

by Pamela N. Harris

Mystery High Plus

April 2021

Hold Back the Tide

by Melinda Salisbury

Mystery High Plus

March 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.