Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Witches Steeped in Gold



by
Ciannon Smart

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper Teen
ISBN
9780062945983
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Moderate Language , Violence: General , Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape Reference/Discussion , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of Furyborn and An Ember in the Ashes, this Jamaican-inspired fantasy debut follows two rival witches who enter into a deadly alliance to take down a common enemy.

Divided by their orders.

United by their vengeance.

Iraya has spent her life in a cell, but every day brings her closer to freedom—and vengeance.

Jazmyne is the queen’s daughter, but unlike her sister before her, she has no intention of dying to strengthen her mother’s power.

Sworn enemies, these two witches enter a precarious alliance to take down a mutual threat. But revenge is a bloody pursuit, and nothing is certain—except the lengths they will go to win this game.

Deadly, fierce, magnetically addictive: this Jamaican-inspired fantasy debut is a thrilling journey where dangerous magic reigns supreme and betrayal lurks beneath every word.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Moderate Language , Violence: General , Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape Reference/Discussion , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

544

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2021

Book Genres

Fantasy, Magic

Topics

Witches. Magic. Rivalry. Revenge. Jamaican folklore.  

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–Sorcery, spite, and superstitions: this Jamaican-inspired young adult fantasy novel is imbued with a dense magic system and, in the center of it all, two witches fighting a common enemy. Princess Jazmyne’s mother all but wiped out prisoner Iraya’s family, a former ruling faction on the island of Aicaya. While Ira seeks vengeance, Jazmyne herself realizes the unsettling cruelty of her mother and wishes to change the present way of ruling. Ira’s calculating style may clash with Jaz’s brash and at times impulsive ways, but they both aspire to have Aicaya under peaceful rule once again. Unfortunately for both of them, evil has a way of sifting to the top. The novel’s worldbuilding operates on a Caribbean form of mythos called Obeah. The inclusive cast includes protagonists with silver-tinted Afros and bronzed skin being the norm. VERDICT A great choice for ­die-hard fantasy fans.–Amanda C. Buschmann, ­Carroll Elem. Sch., Houston

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–Sorcery, spite, and superstitions: this Jamaican-inspired young adult fantasy novel is imbued with a dense magic system and, in the center of it all, two witches fighting a common enemy. Princess Jazmyne’s mother all but wiped out prisoner Iraya’s family, a former ruling faction on the island of Aicaya. While Ira seeks vengeance, Jazmyne herself realizes the unsettling cruelty of her mother and wishes to change the present way of ruling. Ira’s calculating style may clash with Jaz’s brash and at times impulsive ways, but they both aspire to have Aicaya under peaceful rule once again. Unfortunately for both of them, evil has a way of sifting to the top. The novel’s worldbuilding operates on a Caribbean form of mythos called Obeah. The inclusive cast includes protagonists with silver-tinted Afros and bronzed skin being the norm. VERDICT A great choice for ­die-hard fantasy fans.–Amanda C. Buschmann, ­Carroll Elem. Sch., Houston

Grades 9 & Up
Current Trends High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

The 12 books in this category contain stories featuring highly popular themes such as vampires, werewolves, steampunk, and dystopia.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Nonfiction,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Current Trends High Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Current Trends High Plus

Current Trends High Plus

October 2021

The Great Destroyers

by Caroline Tung Richmond

Current Trends High Plus

October 2021

This Poison Heart

by Kalynn Bayron

Current Trends High Plus

September 2021

Meet Cute Diary

by Emery Lee

Current Trends High Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.