Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls



by
Kaela Rivera

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper
ISBN
9780062947550
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back in this #ownvoices middle grade fantasy debut perfect for fans of Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time.

Living in the remote town of Tierra del Sol is dangerous—especially in the criatura months, when powerful spirits break free from their home in Devil’s Alley to threaten humankind. But Cecelia Rios has always believed there was more to the criaturas who roamed the desert, much to her family’s disapproval. After all, it’s common knowledge that only brujas—humans who capture and control criaturas—consort with the spirits, and brujería is a terrible crime.

When her older sister, Juana, is kidnapped by El Sombrerón, a powerful dark criatura, everyone in town believes she’s lost forever. But Cece knows she can bring Juana back. To get into Devil’s Alley, though, she’ll have to become a bruja herself—while hiding her quest from her parents and her town. Thankfully, a legendary criatura with a soft spot for humans has agreed to help her on her journey. With him at her side, Cece sets out to reunite her family—and maybe even change what it means to be a bruja along the way.Glossary.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2021

Book Genres

Fantasy, Magic

Topics

Sisters. Magic. Spirits. Kidnapping. Witchcraft. Caribbean and Latin American legends, myths, fables. Mexico. Family. Siblings.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up–Cecelia Rios does the unthinkable by freeing a dark criatura from the grips of her village. Criaturas have long plagued the residents of the Tierra del Sol desert. Forewarned by her Mama, Cece knows that criaturas were creatures born from the dust and the words of the Great Namer, which aim to harm humans. Shadowed by betrayal and shame, Cece deems herself weak, believing the town whispers that water smothered her inner fire. But when her sister Juana is kidnapped by the criatura, El Sombreron, Cece grapples with a decision that rivals her Mama’s beliefs. Her powerful choice unearths secrets of her family’s past and leads Cece down a forbidden path. Confronted with her fears, Cece forms unexpected alliances while battling a foe unlike any criatura: herself. Set against the Tierra del Sol backdrop, intertwined with rich Mexican folklore and culturally infused language, this is a brilliantly unveiled coming-of-age story not for the faint of heart. Rivera cultivates a valiant heroine unafraid to follow her heart and stand against the norm. With a captivating story line and adversaries lurking between the pages, readers will remain engrossed as fantasy mingles with the real world. The engaging plot unravels with twists and turns, keeping readers on edge even after Cece’s revelation. VERDICT Courage, determination, and unwavering love are the foundation of this debut; a much-needed addition to public and school libraries.–Suraya Jairam, Queens P.L., Hollis, NY

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up–Cecelia Rios does the unthinkable by freeing a dark criatura from the grips of her village. Criaturas have long plagued the residents of the Tierra del Sol desert. Forewarned by her Mama, Cece knows that criaturas were creatures born from the dust and the words of the Great Namer, which aim to harm humans. Shadowed by betrayal and shame, Cece deems herself weak, believing the town whispers that water smothered her inner fire. But when her sister Juana is kidnapped by the criatura, El Sombreron, Cece grapples with a decision that rivals her Mama’s beliefs. Her powerful choice unearths secrets of her family’s past and leads Cece down a forbidden path. Confronted with her fears, Cece forms unexpected alliances while battling a foe unlike any criatura: herself. Set against the Tierra del Sol backdrop, intertwined with rich Mexican folklore and culturally infused language, this is a brilliantly unveiled coming-of-age story not for the faint of heart. Rivera cultivates a valiant heroine unafraid to follow her heart and stand against the norm. With a captivating story line and adversaries lurking between the pages, readers will remain engrossed as fantasy mingles with the real world. The engaging plot unravels with twists and turns, keeping readers on edge even after Cece’s revelation. VERDICT Courage, determination, and unwavering love are the foundation of this debut; a much-needed addition to public and school libraries.–Suraya Jairam, Queens P.L., Hollis, NY

Grades 2-6
Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Your elementary readers will thrill to new futures, fantasy realms and alternate realities. Look forward to discovering a new world monthly with the 12 books in this category.

14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus

Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus

September 2021

Da Vinci's Cat

by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus

September 2021

Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus

August 2021

The Only: Endling #3

by Katherine Applegate

Fantasy/Science Fiction Elementary Plus

July 2021
Out of stock
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.