Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Not My Problem



by
Ciara Smyth

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper Teen
ISBN
9780062957146
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Alcohol Abuse
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Young Adults Plus

From the author of The Falling in Love Montage, this queer coming-of-age story about a slacker who inadvertently becomes her school’s underground problem-solver is wry, multilayered, and unflinchingly honest—perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour.

Aideen has plenty of problems she can’t solve. But when she stumbles upon overachiever Meabh Kowalska having a full-blown meltdown, she sees one that she can actually fix. Meabh is desperate to escape her crushing pile of extracurriculars. Aideen volunteers to help—by pushing her down the stairs.

Problem? Solved. Meabh’s sprained ankle is the perfect excuse to ditch her overwhelming schedule. But when another student learns about their little scheme and brings Aideen another “client” who needs her “help,” it kicks off a semester of traded favors, ill-advised hijinks, and an unexpected chance at love. Fixing other people’s problems won’t fix her own, but it might be the push she needs to start.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Alcohol Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

368

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction, Romance

Topics

Teenage girls. High school students. Children of alcoholics. Secrecy. Lesbians. Outcasts. LGBTQ. Coming of age. Ireland. Romance. Humorous stories. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Bossy know-it-all perfectionist Meabh and underachieving social outcast Aideen are enemies at their Irish high school (think Derry Girls, but co-ed and with more than one wee lesbian). But when Aideen comes across the overwhelmed Meabh having a meltdown, they hatch an outlandish scheme to get Meabh out of some of her many scheduled activities: Aideen will push Meabh down some stairs, injuring Meabh’s ankle; she will thus be excused from yoga, team sports, gym class, etc., while still being able to practice cello, do homework, and, most important, run for student council president. The pushing-down-the-stairs scheme actually works, but it’s witnessed by odd- duck but super-sweet classmate Kavi, who then begins bringing Aideen “clients” so she can solve their problems, too. As Aideen’s services become more and more sought after, escapades ensue, and her life gets very entangled— but, also, her social orbit begins to expand as “clients” turn into a network of friends, and she and Meabh start to fall for each other. Meanwhile, Aideen’s heretofore sole friend, Holly, manipulative and vindictive, decides to run against Meabh in the school election—forcing Aideen to make some hard choices. Aideen’s first-person narration is often hilarious, tart, and sarcastic; often heart-tuggingly poignant (especially when she’s trying to suss out if her single-parent mam is drinking again; or when finally allowing herself to realize what a false friend Holly is); always completely authentic and compulsively readable. MARTHA V. PARRAVANO

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Bossy know-it-all perfectionist Meabh and underachieving social outcast Aideen are enemies at their Irish high school (think Derry Girls, but co-ed and with more than one wee lesbian). But when Aideen comes across the overwhelmed Meabh having a meltdown, they hatch an outlandish scheme to get Meabh out of some of her many scheduled activities: Aideen will push Meabh down some stairs, injuring Meabh’s ankle; she will thus be excused from yoga, team sports, gym class, etc., while still being able to practice cello, do homework, and, most important, run for student council president. The pushing-down-the-stairs scheme actually works, but it’s witnessed by odd- duck but super-sweet classmate Kavi, who then begins bringing Aideen “clients” so she can solve their problems, too. As Aideen’s services become more and more sought after, escapades ensue, and her life gets very entangled— but, also, her social orbit begins to expand as “clients” turn into a network of friends, and she and Meabh start to fall for each other. Meanwhile, Aideen’s heretofore sole friend, Holly, manipulative and vindictive, decides to run against Meabh in the school election—forcing Aideen to make some hard choices. Aideen’s first-person narration is often hilarious, tart, and sarcastic; often heart-tuggingly poignant (especially when she’s trying to suss out if her single-parent mam is drinking again; or when finally allowing herself to realize what a false friend Holly is); always completely authentic and compulsively readable. MARTHA V. PARRAVANO

Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

Why stop there? Give them double the literary rewards with our Yp category-where you can stock your shelves with 14 additional young adult titles every year.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Young Adults Plus

The Jasmine Project

by Meredith Ireland

Young Adults Plus

November 2021

Young Adults Plus

October 2021

The Lucky List

by Rachael Lippincott

Young Adults Plus

October 2021

Not My Problem

by Ciara Smyth

Young Adults Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.