Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey



written and illustrated by
Erin Entrada Kelly

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780062970428
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly! Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol. Features black-and-white throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.

Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard named Peppina … but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)—and the only girl who’s fearful of adventure and fun.

Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.

Told in short chapters, with illustrations by the author on almost every page, Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this effervescent new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Judy Blume, and Kate DiCamillo.Black-and-white illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

160

Trim Size

7 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2021

Book Genres

Chapter Book

Topics

Imagination. Courage. Magnolias. Trees. Best friends. Friendship. Family life. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Kelly (Newbery medalist for Hello, Universe, rev. 3/17; We Dream of Space, rev. 5/20) reaches out to a younger audience in an approachable chapter book about thoughtful worrier Marisol. Marisol has what everyone describes as the perfect climbing tree in her Louisiana backyard, but the list of things she fears is long, and the magnolia tree she’s named Peppina (after a Mary Pickford character—she’s a silent movie buff) is at the top of the list. She can’t imagine what it feels like to give a book report without quaking, or to visit her extended family in the Philippines—much less what it feel like to be brave enough to climb the tree. The story covers several days during summer vacation when Marisol decides that she will, like her idol Pickford, face up to frightening things and climb Peppina. Kelly’s writing has the unhurried pace of an unscheduled summer day (Marisol and her best friend Jada spy on Marisol’s brother Oz, act out silent movies, and ride bikes around the neighborhood). The story’s tension is built from the skillful accumulation of small moments and the strong character development. Frequent delightfully quirky line drawings by the author add humor and personality. Give this to readers of Dominguezs Stella Diaz Has Something to Say (rev. 5/18) and Henke’s The Year of Billy Miller (9/13). MAEVE VISSER SNOTH

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Kelly (Newbery medalist for Hello, Universe, rev. 3/17; We Dream of Space, rev. 5/20) reaches out to a younger audience in an approachable chapter book about thoughtful worrier Marisol. Marisol has what everyone describes as the perfect climbing tree in her Louisiana backyard, but the list of things she fears is long, and the magnolia tree she’s named Peppina (after a Mary Pickford character—she’s a silent movie buff) is at the top of the list. She can’t imagine what it feels like to give a book report without quaking, or to visit her extended family in the Philippines—much less what it feel like to be brave enough to climb the tree. The story covers several days during summer vacation when Marisol decides that she will, like her idol Pickford, face up to frightening things and climb Peppina. Kelly’s writing has the unhurried pace of an unscheduled summer day (Marisol and her best friend Jada spy on Marisol’s brother Oz, act out silent movies, and ride bikes around the neighborhood). The story’s tension is built from the skillful accumulation of small moments and the strong character development. Frequent delightfully quirky line drawings by the author add humor and personality. Give this to readers of Dominguezs Stella Diaz Has Something to Say (rev. 5/18) and Henke’s The Year of Billy Miller (9/13). MAEVE VISSER SNOTH

Grades 2-4
Independent Readers
For Grades 2-4

Children who can read on their own will love this category. The 12 books per year you get in this category range from picture books to early chapter books. Many of these compelling fiction and nonfiction titles feature large print and eye-catching artwork.

12 books per Year
$183.00 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-4
Independent Readers
12 books per Year
$183.00 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Independent Readers

Independent Readers

November 2021

You're a Star, Lolo

by Niki Daly

Independent Readers

October 2021

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

by Erin Entrada Kelly

Independent Readers

September 2021

Independent Readers

August 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.