Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Love & Other Natural Disasters



by
Misa Sugiura

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper Teen
ISBN
9780062991232
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language , Discrimination: Sexuality
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

City High School

From the Asian/Pacific American Award–winning author of It’s Not Like It’s a Secret and This Time Will Be Different, this delightfully disastrous queer fake-dating rom-com is a quintessential summer read perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon.

When Nozomi Nagai pictured the ideal summer romance, a fake one wasn’t what she had in mind.

That was before she met the perfect girl. Willow is gorgeous, glamorous, and…heartbroken? And when she enlists Nozomi to pose as her new girlfriend to make her ex jealous, Nozomi is a willing volunteer.

Because Nozomi has a master plan of her own: one to show Willow she’s better than a stand-in, and turn their fauxmance into something real. But as the lies pile up, it’s not long before Nozomi’s schemes take a turn toward disaster…and maybe a chance at love she didn’t plan for.Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language , Discrimination: Sexuality

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction, Romance

Topics

San Francisco, California. Art museums. Internship programs. Dating (social customs). Social media. Lesbians. Interpersonal relations. Japanese Americans. LGBTQ.

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–When the opportunity to kiss her crush at an end of the school year party doesn’t go as planned, Japanese American teen Nozomi is convinced she is just beige wallpaper—plain and unmemorable. She is looking forward to a summer spent away in San Francisco, interning at her uncle’s art gallery, as a chance to reinvent herself and, hopefully, have the perfect summer romance. Enter Willow, an incredibly gorgeous Asian girl who works in the gallery’s gift shop and is heartbroken over a recent breakup with her girlfriend. Willow, feeling betrayed and spiteful, suggests that they fake date to make her ex jealous. Nozomi jumps at the chance, hoping that through the process Willow will fall in love with her. Sugiura brings readers an adorable rom-com where the conflict isn’t focused on the character’s sexuality. While Nozomi is a frustrating main character at times, putting herself before others and getting into cringe-worthy situations, many teens will find her relatable. On the surface, this appears to be a predictable romance novel with a fake dating trope, but it goes deeper than that. The story also digs into the intersection of race and queerness along with other topics like dementia, the fallout of divorce, and homophobia. VERDICT A fun romance that engages with deeper issues. –Alicia Kalan, The Northwest Sch., Seattle

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–When the opportunity to kiss her crush at an end of the school year party doesn’t go as planned, Japanese American teen Nozomi is convinced she is just beige wallpaper—plain and unmemorable. She is looking forward to a summer spent away in San Francisco, interning at her uncle’s art gallery, as a chance to reinvent herself and, hopefully, have the perfect summer romance. Enter Willow, an incredibly gorgeous Asian girl who works in the gallery’s gift shop and is heartbroken over a recent breakup with her girlfriend. Willow, feeling betrayed and spiteful, suggests that they fake date to make her ex jealous. Nozomi jumps at the chance, hoping that through the process Willow will fall in love with her. Sugiura brings readers an adorable rom-com where the conflict isn’t focused on the character’s sexuality. While Nozomi is a frustrating main character at times, putting herself before others and getting into cringe-worthy situations, many teens will find her relatable. On the surface, this appears to be a predictable romance novel with a fake dating trope, but it goes deeper than that. The story also digs into the intersection of race and queerness along with other topics like dementia, the fallout of divorce, and homophobia. VERDICT A fun romance that engages with deeper issues. –Alicia Kalan, The Northwest Sch., Seattle

Grades 10 & Up
City High School
For Grades 10 & Up

Teen readers looking for realistic city settings and urban themes will enjoy these often-gritty titles that deal with contemporary situations and feature ethnically and culturally diverse characters. These titles will have special appeal for urban teens who want to see their own lives reflected in the books they read. Readers interested in the excitement and challenges of a city setting will also be drawn to the 12 books that comprise this category.

12 books per Year
$259.20 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 10 & Up
City High School
12 books per Year
$259.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From City High School

City High School

July 2022

Arden Grey

by Ray Stoeve

City High School

June 2022

She Gets the Girl

by Rachael Lippincott

City High School

May 2022

No Filter and Other Lies

by Crystal Maldonado

City High School

April 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.