Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Once Upon a Quinceañera



by
Monica Gomez-Hira

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCo
Imprint
Print
ISBN
9780062996831
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Sexual Harassment , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

City High School

Jenny Han meets Jane the Virgin in this flashy and fun #ownvoices rom-com from debut author Monica Gomez-Hira.

Carmen Aguilar just wants to make her happily ever after come true. Except apparently, “happily ever after” for Carmen involves being stuck in an unpaid summer internship. All she has to do is perform as a party princess! In a ball gown. During the summer. In Miami.

Fine. Except that’s only the first misfortune in what’s turning out to be a summer of Utter Disaster.

But if Carmen can manage dancing in the blistering heat, fending off an oh-so-unfortunately-attractive ex, and stopping her spoiled cousin from ruining her own quinceañera, Carmen might just get that happily ever after, after all.

Perfect for fans of Erica L. Sánchez and Abigail Hing Wen, this immediately accessible and irresistibly fun #ownvoices rom-com debut will spin readers into an unforgettable summer of late-night dancing, broken hearts, second chances, and telenovela twists.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Sexual Harassment , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

432

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2021

Book Genres

Romance, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Quinceañera (social custom). Family life. Miami, Florida. Entertainers. Interns. Dating (social customs). 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–When Carmen Aguilar starts her summer internship at Dreams Come True, she is dreading the long days ahead dressing up as a party princess. Quitting is not an option since she needs the internship to graduate high school, so she does her best to play the part. No matter how bad she expected it to be, she did not imagine that her ex-boyfriend, Mauro, would be one of her co-workers, and her dance partner. As if things couldn’t get worse, Carmen learns that the company has been hired by her younger cousin, Ariana, for her quinceañera. After a recent family argument left the two estranged, Carmen finds it almost impossible to face Ariana and her overpowering parents. As the Miami summer unrolls, Carmen struggles with her unresolved feelings toward Mauro, while also trying to handle the dysfunction that plagues her extended family. Gomez-Hira makes Miami come alive with her descriptions of clubs, sunsets, and Latinx culture. The characters, most of whom are Latin American, blend their culture into their dialogue, lending the book authenticity. Though there are times when the teenage romance drama seems a bit overdone, many readers will likely enjoy the emotional outbursts and over-the-top passion. The scenes between Carmen and Mauro, a few of which contain sexual content, often are cliched, but readers looking for mushy sweet talk won’t mind. VERDICT A charming novel that will appeal to teens looking for a love story.–Karin Greenberg, Manhasset H.S., NY

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–When Carmen Aguilar starts her summer internship at Dreams Come True, she is dreading the long days ahead dressing up as a party princess. Quitting is not an option since she needs the internship to graduate high school, so she does her best to play the part. No matter how bad she expected it to be, she did not imagine that her ex-boyfriend, Mauro, would be one of her co-workers, and her dance partner. As if things couldn’t get worse, Carmen learns that the company has been hired by her younger cousin, Ariana, for her quinceañera. After a recent family argument left the two estranged, Carmen finds it almost impossible to face Ariana and her overpowering parents. As the Miami summer unrolls, Carmen struggles with her unresolved feelings toward Mauro, while also trying to handle the dysfunction that plagues her extended family. Gomez-Hira makes Miami come alive with her descriptions of clubs, sunsets, and Latinx culture. The characters, most of whom are Latin American, blend their culture into their dialogue, lending the book authenticity. Though there are times when the teenage romance drama seems a bit overdone, many readers will likely enjoy the emotional outbursts and over-the-top passion. The scenes between Carmen and Mauro, a few of which contain sexual content, often are cliched, but readers looking for mushy sweet talk won’t mind. VERDICT A charming novel that will appeal to teens looking for a love story.–Karin Greenberg, Manhasset H.S., NY

Grades 10 & Up
City High School
For Grades 10 & Up

Teen readers looking for realistic city settings and urban themes will enjoy these often-gritty titles that deal with contemporary situations and feature ethnically and culturally diverse characters. These titles will have special appeal for urban teens who want to see their own lives reflected in the books they read. Readers interested in the excitement and challenges of a city setting will also be drawn to the 12 books that comprise this category.

12 books per Year
$214.20 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 10 & Up
City High School
12 books per Year
$214.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From City High School

Indivisible

by Daniel Aleman

City High School

August 2021

City High School

July 2021

The Cost of Knowing

by Brittney Morris

City High School

June 2021

Once Upon a Quinceañera

by Monica Gomez-Hira

City High School

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.