Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Wishing Upon the Same Stars



by
Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
HarperCollins
ISBN
9780063034389
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Xenophobia
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

This is a poignant coming-of-age middle grade debut about Yasmeen Khoury, an Arab American girl who befriends the Jewish-Israeli girl next door. Perfect for fans of Front Desk and American as Paneer Pie.

When twelve-year-old Yasmeen Khoury moves with her family to San Antonio, all she wants to do is fit in. But her classmates in Texas are nothing like her friends in the predominantly Arab neighborhood back in Detroit where she grew up. Almost immediately, Yasmeen feels like the odd girl out as she faces middle school mean girls and tries to make new friends. Then Yasmeen meets her neighbor, Ayelet Cohen, a first-generation Israeli American. The two girls gradually grow closer, and Yasmeen is grateful to know another daughter of immigrants who understands what it feels like when your parents’ idea of home is half a world away.

But when Yasmeen’s grandmother moves in after her home in the West Bank is destroyed, Yasmeen finds her family and Ayelet’s suddenly at odds, forcing them both to grapple with how much closer the events of the Israeli–Palestinian conflict are than they’ve realized. As Yasmeen begins to develop her own understandings of home, heritage, and most importantly, herself, can the two girls learn there’s more that brings them together than might tear them apart . . . and that peace begins with them?

Jacquetta Nammar Feldman’s evocative debut reminds us that friends can be found in unexpected places.

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Xenophobia

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

368

Trim Size

8 3/10' x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.4: points 11

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Syriac Christians. Moving households. Ethnic attitudes. Ethnic relations. Fathers and daughters. Families. Friendship. Arab Americans. San Antonio, Texas. Jewish Americans.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 12 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$259.56 per Year
Interests
"Clean" Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$259.56 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

Caprice

by Coe Booth

Advanced Readers Plus

June 2022

Karthik Delivers

by Sheela Chari

Advanced Readers Plus

May 2022

Loyalty

by Avi

Advanced Readers Plus

April 2022

Wishing Upon the Same Stars

by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

Advanced Readers Plus

March 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.