Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Notes on an Execution: A Novel



by
Danya Kukafka

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
William Morrow (Adult)
ISBN
9780063052734
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Cruelty to Animals , Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Violence: Child Abuse , Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes
$21.90   $18.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

In the tradition of Long Bright River and The Mars Room, a gripping and atmospheric work of literary suspense that deconstructs the story of a serial killer on death row, told primarily through the eyes of the women in his life—from the bestselling author of Girl in Snow.

Ansel Packer is scheduled to die in twelve hours. He knows what he’s done, and now awaits execution, the same chilling fate he forced on those girls, years ago. But Ansel doesn’t want to die; he wants to be celebrated, understood. He hoped it wouldn’t end like this, not for him.

Through a kaleidoscope of women—a mother, a sister, a homicide detective—we learn the story of Ansel’s life. We meet his mother, Lavender, a seventeen-year-old girl pushed to desperation. We meet Hazel, twin sister to Ansel’s wife, inseparable since birth, forced to watch helplessly as her sister’s relationship threatens to devour them all. And finally, Saffy, the homicide detective hot on his trail, who has devoted herself to bringing bad men to justice but struggles to see her own life clearly. As the clock ticks down, these three women sift through the choices that culminate in tragedy, exploring the rippling fissures that such destruction inevitably leaves in its wake.

Blending breathtaking suspense with astonishing empathy, em>Notes on an Execution presents a chilling portrait of womanhood as it simultaneously unravels the familiar narrative of the American serial killer, interrogating our system of justice and our cultural obsession with crime stories, asking readers to consider the false promise of looking for meaning in the psyches of violent men.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Cruelty to Animals , Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Violence: Child Abuse , Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2022

Book Genres

Detective Story, Thriller

Topics

Serial murderers. Serial killers. Family. Death row inmates. Crime. Women’s fiction. Impact of crime on women.

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 11 & Up
Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus
For Grades 11 & Up

Suspenseful fiction and nonfiction for high school readers who are ready for adult reading.
*Take note: these selections often contain mature situations and language that could be considered controversial.

14 books per Year
$309.26 per Year
Interests
Fiction,Mature Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 11 & Up
Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus
14 books per Year
$309.26 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

The Family Chao: A Novel

by Lan Samantha Chang

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

August 2022

Fevered Star

by Rebecca Roanhorse

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

July 2022

The Atlas Six

by Olivie Blake

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

June 2022

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

May 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.