Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Swim Team



written and illustrated by
Johnnie Christmas

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
HarperAlley
ISBN
9780063056770
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism
$20.16   $16.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of Jerry Craft and Kwame Alexander, this splashy, contemporary middle grade graphic novel debut from cartoonist Johnnie Christmas follows young Bree as she faces her fear of swimming head-on while at the same time confronting the long-standing barriers of systemic racism set within the public pool system.

Bree can’t wait for her first day at her new middle school, Enith Brigitha, home to the Mighty Manatees—until she’s stuck with the only elective that fits her schedule, the dreaded Swim 101.

The thought of swimming makes Bree more than a little queasy, yet she's forced to dive headfirst into one of her greatest fears. Lucky for her, Etta, an elderly occupant of her apartment building and former swim team captain, is willing to help.

With Etta’s training and a lot of hard work, Bree suddenly finds her swim-crazed community counting on her to turn the school’s failing team around. But that’s easier said than done, especially when their rival, the prestigious Holyoke Prep, has everything they need to leave the Mighty Manatees in their wake.

In this middle grade graphic novel debut, Johnnie Christmas demonstrates how—through friendship, courage, and heart—the wave of change can start with the smallest ripple.

Author’s note. Suggestions for further reading. Full-color illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

256

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

F

AR

2.6: points 1

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2022

Book Genres

Graphic Novels, Sports

Topics

Moving households. Florida. Neighbors. Middle schools. Swimming. Sports and recreation. Black people. African American history. Segregation. Swim teams. Friendship. Teamwork.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 5-8
Sports Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

An action-packed level devoted exclusively to sports. These fiction and nonfiction selections are sure to be a hit with your middle-school sports fans. And the hits arrive each month with this 12 book category.

14 books per Year
$284.62 per Year
Interests
Biographies,Chapter Books/Novels,Diversity,Fiction,History,Nonfiction,Reluctant Readers,Realistic Fiction,Sports
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Sports Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$284.62 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Sports Middle Plus

Sports Middle Plus

August 2022

Coming Up Short

by Laurie Morrison

Sports Middle Plus

July 2022

Swim Team

by Johnnie Christmas

Sports Middle Plus

June 2022

Falling Short

by Ernesto Cisneros

Sports Middle Plus

May 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.