Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Silence that Binds Us



by
Joanna Ho

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Harper Teen
ISBN
9780063059344
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Violence: Suicide , Violence: Gun Violence , Language: Strong Language , Language: Racial or Ethnic Epithet/Slur
$22.18   $18.48
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Young Adults

New York Times bestselling author Joanna Ho’s debut YA novel explores themes of racism, classism, loss, friendship, and mental health in an achingly powerful book that will challenge closely held beliefs. Perfect for fans of The Astonishing Color of After and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.

Joanna Ho, author of the New York Times bestseller Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, delivers an exquisite, heart-rending debut young adult novel that will inspire all to speak truth to power.

In the face of injustice will you speak up or stay silent?

Maybelline Chen isn't the Chinese Taiwanese American daughter her mother expects her to be. May prefers hoodies over dresses and wants to become a writer. When asked, her mom can’t come up with one specific reason for why she's proud of her only daughter. May's beloved brother, Danny, on the other hand, has just been admitted to Princeton. But Danny secretly struggles with depression, and when he dies by suicide, May's world is shattered.

In the aftermath, racist accusations are hurled against May's parents for putting too much “pressure” on him. May’s father tells her to keep her head down. Instead, May challenges these ugly stereotypes through her writing. Yet the consequences of speaking out run much deeper than anyone could foresee. Who gets to tell our stories and who gets silenced? It’s up to May to take back the narrative.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Violence: Suicide , Violence: Gun Violence , Language: Strong Language , Language: Racial or Ethnic Epithet/Slur

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

448

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Suicide. Brothers and sisters. Racism. Chinese Americans. Asian Americans. Family life. California. High schools. Romance. Friendship. Grief. Mental health. Siblings. Social activism. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
For Grades 9 & Up

Your older teen readers will appreciate the 12 selections in this category, a diverse mix of fiction and nonfiction covering complex issues and more mature content, from crushes and body changes to friendships and sibling rivalry.

12 books per Year
$243.96 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
12 books per Year
$243.96 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Young Adults

Love Times Infinity

by Lane Clarke

Young Adults

October 2022

Valiant Ladies

by Melissa Grey

Young Adults

September 2022

Young Adults

August 2022

Live, Laugh, Kidnap

by Gabby Noone

Young Adults

July 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.