Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Manatee Summer



by
Evan Griffith

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Quill Tree
ISBN
9780063094918
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$21.52   $17.93
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of The Line Tender an The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, this poignant middle grade debut beautifully captures all the heart and uncertainty that come with caring for family, friends, and the natural world.

Peter and his best friend, Tommy, have a goal for their last summer before middle school: finish their Discovery Journal, a catalog of the animals around their Florida town. When they spot a manatee, Peter knows he’s found something special—especially because his grandpa has been telling stories about manatees for years.

But as Grandpa’s dementia worsens and an unwelcome surprise jeopardizes Peter and Tommy’s friendship, Peter finds himself adrift—navigating shifting tides and the realization that he has as much to discover about himself as he does about the world around him.

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

288

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.7: points 8

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Florida. Manatees. Friendship. Moving households. Family life. Multigenerational households. Grandfathers and grandsons. Alzheimer’s disease. Environmentalism. Activism. Wildlife conservation. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
For Grades 3-5

A wide variety of novels and accessible nonfiction for younger elementary readers who love a good story comprise this category of 12 books per year. The focus in these titles is primarily on the text, though some novels may feature illustration.

12 books per Year
$236.64 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Transitional Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
12 books per Year
$236.64 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Intermediate Readers

A Rover's Story

by Jasmine Warga

Intermediate Readers

January 2023

Violet and Jobie in the Wild

by Lynne Rae Perkins

Intermediate Readers

December 2022

My Life Begins!

by Patricia MacLachlan

Intermediate Readers

November 2022

Manatee Summer

by Evan Griffith

Intermediate Readers

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.