Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Breda's Island



by
Jessie Ann Foley

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
HarperCollins
ISBN
9780063207721
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Mild Language
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

The first middle grade novel from award-winning author Jessie Ann Foley is a story of broken family ties and the journey one girl must take to find herself. Perfect for fans of When You Trap a Tiger and Shouting at the Rain.

After Breda Moriarity gets caught stealing one too many times, Breda's mom sends her to Ireland—a place she has never been—to live with the grandfather she has never met.

While Breda doesn’t want to be in this strangely beautiful land, she finally gets to meet her granda, her mom’s father. He’s a grumpy farmer who is also a seanchaí, a traditional Gaelic storyteller. But the most important story to Breda is the one nobody will talk about: what happened to her absent father. If nothing else this summer, Breda is determined to figure out the truth about her family’s history—and herself.

This powerfully poignant middle grade novel asks important questions about immigration, estranged relationships, and family secrets.

Map of Ireland. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Mild Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

256

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.6: points 7

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Grandfathers. Family secrets. Ireland. At-risk youth. Summer vacation. Grandparent and child. Families. Storytelling.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 12 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

Holler of the Fireflies

by David Barclay Moore

Advanced Readers Plus

November 2022

Moonflower

by Kacen Callender

Advanced Readers Plus

October 2022

Dragonfly Eyes

by Cao Wenxuan

Advanced Readers Plus

October 2022

The Star That Always Stays

by Anna Rose Johnson

Advanced Readers Plus

September 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.