Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea



by
Ashley Herring Blake

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Hachette Book Group
Imprint
Little, Brown BFYR
ISBN
9780316535458
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

For fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Ali Benjamin comes a poignant yet hopeful novel about a girl navigating grief, trauma, and friendship, from Ashley Herring Blake, the award-winning author of Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World.

Hazel Bly used to live in the perfect house with the perfect family in sunny California. But when a kayaking trip goes horribly wrong, Mum is suddenly gone forever and Hazel is left with crippling anxiety and a jagged scar on her face. After Mum's death, Hazel, her other mother, Mama, and her little sister, Peach, needed a fresh start. So for the last two years, the Bly girls have lived all over the country, never settling anywhere for more than a few months.

When the family arrives in Rose Harbor, Maine, there's a wildness to the small town that feels like magic. But when Mama runs into an old childhood friend—Claire—suddenly Hazel's tight-knit world is infiltrated. To make it worse, she has a daughter Hazel's age, Lemon, who can't stop rambling on and on about the Rose Maid, a local 150-year-old mermaid myth.

Soon, Hazel finds herself just as obsessed with the Rose Maid as Lemon is—because what if magic were real? What if grief really could change you so much, you weren't even yourself anymore? And what if instead you emerged from the darkness stronger than before?

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

8" x 5 7/10"

Dewey

F

AR

4.8: points 11

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2021

Book Genres

Magical Realism

Topics

Mothers and daughters. Lesbian mothers. Sisters. Grief. Loss (psychology). Maine. Single-parent families. Friendship. Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Gender identity. Folklore. Mermaids. LGBTQ.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 12 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
"Clean" Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

Moonwalking

by Zetta Elliott

Advanced Readers Plus

July 2022

Caprice

by Coe Booth

Advanced Readers Plus

June 2022

Karthik Delivers

by Sheela Chari

Advanced Readers Plus

May 2022

Loyalty

by Avi

Advanced Readers Plus

April 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.