Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Erik vs. Everything



by
Christina Uss

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Imprint
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN
9780358126713
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Nine-year-old Erik Sheepflattener’s life motto is Avoid Stuff, despite his family’s attempts to bring out his inner Viking. Can a worrier really become a warrior? In this silly, heartfelt, outrageously quirky novel for fans of Restart and Pay Attention, Carter Jones . . . why not be both?

Meet Erik Sheepflattener. Each member of his modern-day Viking-heritage family has a motto to live by. His parents have Family and Pride. His sisters have Conquer and Win. His grandfather has Turnip. But Erik is developing a motto he can truly believe in: Avoid Stuff. Mostly, Erik’s fierce family ignores or discounts him, especially when he tries to say no. But while spending the summer with his rough-and-tumble cousins and older sister Brunhilde in Minnesota, axe-wielding Bru gets the idea to name and Conquer all of Erik’s fears. Will anyone hear him say no before it’s too late? And will Erik end up defined by his fears, or by his fearless family?

Erik vs. Everything is an adventurous, humorous, and heartfelt romp about finding your place, speaking up for yourself, and pursuing what you love . . . even when it scares you.Sources for quotations. “An Anxious Author’s Note.”

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

288

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.5: points 8

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Family life. Fear. Phobias. Anxiety. Courage. Summer vacations. Norwegian Americans. Vikings. Dirt bikes. Siblings. Brothers and sisters. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
For Grades 3-5

A wide variety of novels and accessible nonfiction for younger elementary readers who love a good story comprise this category of 12 books per year. The focus in these titles is primarily on the text, though some novels may feature illustration.

12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Transitional Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Intermediate Readers

Once Upon a Camel

by Kathi Appelt

Intermediate Readers

December 2021

Erik vs. Everything

by Christina Uss

Intermediate Readers

November 2021

Maya and the Robot

by Eve L. Ewing

Intermediate Readers

October 2021

Happily for Now

by Kelly Jones

Intermediate Readers

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.