Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Some Other Now



by
Sarah Everett

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Imprint
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN
9780358251866
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language
$21.90   $18.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the Tree, Emergency Contact, and Nina LaCour.

Before she kissed one of the Cohen boys, seventeen-year-old Jessi Rumfield knew what it was like to have a family—even if, technically, that family didn’t belong to her. She’d spent her childhood in the house next door, challenging Rowan Cohen to tennis matches while his older brother, Luke, studied in the background and Mel watched over the three like the mother Jessi always wished she had.

But then everything changed. It’s been almost a year since Jessi last visited the Cohen house. Rowan is gone. Mel is in remission and Luke hates Jessi for the role she played in breaking his family apart. Now Jessi spends her days at a dead-end summer job avoiding her real mother, who suddenly wants to play a role in Jessi's life after being absent for so long. But when Luke comes home from college, it's hard to ignore the past. And when he asks Jessi to pretend to be his girlfriend for the final months of Mel’s life, Jessi finds herself drawn back into the world of the Cohens. Everything’s changed, but Jessi can’t help wanting to be a Cohen, even if it means playing pretend for one final summer.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

368

Trim Size

8 3/10"x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Families. Being sick. Friendship. Dating (social customs). Mental depression. Racially mixed people. Grief. Cancer. African American. Romance. Alternative family. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Since the age of seven, Jessi has considered the Cohen family her own. She and Rowan play tennis and talk about everything; they are still best friends now at the age of 17. Luke has also always been there, another honorary and loyal brother. Even though the boys’ mom, Mel, has cancer, she is accessible and accepting, the kind of mother Jessi needs because her own is bedridden by depression and not an active part of Jessi’s life. Something terrible happens that rips the Cohens and Jessi apart, creating a rift between Jessi and Mel. Everett uses alternating time lines: “Then” is when Jessi, channeling Mel’s joie de vivre, is brave and kisses Luke for the time, setting off a romance that enchants but ends frustratingly. “Now” is when Jessi is enticed into Luke’s plan to pretend that they are back together to make Mel happy in her dying days. Everett is a master at dropping clues in these alternating time lines that cause readers to predict and question, compelling the romance and the complexities of Jessi’s relatable life along. With foils like lovely friend Willow and cranky octogenarian Ernie, Everett enmeshes Jessi and Luke in the myopia of teenage self-blame, survivor’s guilt, and a love triangle. Race and mental health play minor roles; Jessi’s mother is white and father is Black, and Mel’s parents are from the Philippines. VERDICT Though it takes 117 pages for Everett to drop the bomb of the worst thing, the story picks up unbridled steam of page-turning romance and existential angst as Jessi eventually learns there is no other now.–Jamie Winchell, Percy Julian M.S., IL

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Since the age of seven, Jessi has considered the Cohen family her own. She and Rowan play tennis and talk about everything; they are still best friends now at the age of 17. Luke has also always been there, another honorary and loyal brother. Even though the boys’ mom, Mel, has cancer, she is accessible and accepting, the kind of mother Jessi needs because her own is bedridden by depression and not an active part of Jessi’s life. Something terrible happens that rips the Cohens and Jessi apart, creating a rift between Jessi and Mel. Everett uses alternating time lines: “Then” is when Jessi, channeling Mel’s joie de vivre, is brave and kisses Luke for the time, setting off a romance that enchants but ends frustratingly. “Now” is when Jessi is enticed into Luke’s plan to pretend that they are back together to make Mel happy in her dying days. Everett is a master at dropping clues in these alternating time lines that cause readers to predict and question, compelling the romance and the complexities of Jessi’s relatable life along. With foils like lovely friend Willow and cranky octogenarian Ernie, Everett enmeshes Jessi and Luke in the myopia of teenage self-blame, survivor’s guilt, and a love triangle. Race and mental health play minor roles; Jessi’s mother is white and father is Black, and Mel’s parents are from the Philippines. VERDICT Though it takes 117 pages for Everett to drop the bomb of the worst thing, the story picks up unbridled steam of page-turning romance and existential angst as Jessi eventually learns there is no other now.–Jamie Winchell, Percy Julian M.S., IL

Grades 11 & Up
Mature Young Adults Plus
For Grades 11 & Up

Filled with stimulating nonfiction and can't-put-it-down fiction, this catetory is perfect for bridging the gap between young adult and adult reading. Take note: these 12 selections often contain mature situations and language that could be considered controversial.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 11 & Up
Mature Young Adults Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mature Young Adults Plus

Both Sides Now

by Peyton Thomas

Mature Young Adults Plus

December 2021

Mature Young Adults Plus

November 2021

The (Un)Popular Vote

by Jasper Sanchez

Mature Young Adults Plus

October 2021

Mature Young Adults Plus

October 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.