Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Generation Misfits



by
Akemi Dawn Bowman

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Farrar, Straus & Giroux
ISBN
9780374313746
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Child Abuse
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A heartwarming Own Voices middle grade novel about an eleven-year-old Japanese-American girl who finds her true friends when she joins her school’s J-Pop club, from award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman.

Eleven-year-old Millie Nakakura is starting sixth grade at a real school for the first time in her life. Previously homeschooled, Millie dreams of finally making friends and having a little bit of freedom—though this proves tricker than she expected.

Then she spots a flyer for an after-school club for fans of Japanese pop music, which she loves more than anything else in the world. Millie makes true friends with this crew of misfits, and when of their members starts to bend under the strain of a troubled home life, the friends band together to help her get through these tough times. Generation Misfits is an emotionally resonant, diverse, and inclusive book that's perfect for readers who loved Real Friends and Stand Up, Yumi Chung.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Child Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 2/5"

Dewey

F

AR

4.9: points 11

Lexile

680L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Friendship. Popular music. Japan. Bands (music). Performing arts. Schools. Clubs. Japanese Americans. Asian Americans. Bullying. LGBTQ.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up–Eleven-year-old Japanese American student Millie Nakakura is starting her first day of school at Brightside Academy, a K–12 magnet school for visual and performing arts. The day gets off to a rough start when Millie, a former homeschooler, is late to several of her classes, spills her lunch on the most popular girl in school, and struggles to make friends. Spotting a flyer in the hallway, Millie shows up to J-Club, a Japanese cultural appreciation group. There, she meets Tina Suzuki (Zuki for short) and the two become fast friends. Hoping to increase membership, Zuki and Millie hold open auditions to turn J-Club into a cover band of their favorite J-pop girl group, Generation Love. Soon they are joined by nonbinary student Ashley Seo, shy theater student Rainbow Chan, and popular dancer Luna Acevedo. The band of self-described misfits sets their sights on trying out for the Pop Showcase, a school talent show, but along the way they form lasting bonds of friendship. Millie struggles to balance schoolwork, J-Club, and practicing the flute for the school band with her parents’ high expectations of excellence. Meanwhile, Zuki begins seeing the school counselor regularly for problems related to her home life, Rainbow is tormented by bullies, and Luna and Ashley must face a tough conversation stemming from a misunderstanding in their past to resolve tension in the present. The novel’s strength lies in writing that respects the emotional lives of adolescents, and in the realistic and honest portrayal of young people supporting one another on their journey to becoming their true selves. VERDICT This character-centered coming-of-age novel features authentic dialogue with a fully realized cast of diverse characters, and celebrates the power, importance, and value of friendship. Highly recommended for school and ­public ­library collections.–­Samantha Lumetta, P.L. of Cincinnati and Hamilton Cty., OH

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up–Eleven-year-old Japanese American student Millie Nakakura is starting her first day of school at Brightside Academy, a K–12 magnet school for visual and performing arts. The day gets off to a rough start when Millie, a former homeschooler, is late to several of her classes, spills her lunch on the most popular girl in school, and struggles to make friends. Spotting a flyer in the hallway, Millie shows up to J-Club, a Japanese cultural appreciation group. There, she meets Tina Suzuki (Zuki for short) and the two become fast friends. Hoping to increase membership, Zuki and Millie hold open auditions to turn J-Club into a cover band of their favorite J-pop girl group, Generation Love. Soon they are joined by nonbinary student Ashley Seo, shy theater student Rainbow Chan, and popular dancer Luna Acevedo. The band of self-described misfits sets their sights on trying out for the Pop Showcase, a school talent show, but along the way they form lasting bonds of friendship. Millie struggles to balance schoolwork, J-Club, and practicing the flute for the school band with her parents’ high expectations of excellence. Meanwhile, Zuki begins seeing the school counselor regularly for problems related to her home life, Rainbow is tormented by bullies, and Luna and Ashley must face a tough conversation stemming from a misunderstanding in their past to resolve tension in the present. The novel’s strength lies in writing that respects the emotional lives of adolescents, and in the realistic and honest portrayal of young people supporting one another on their journey to becoming their true selves. VERDICT This character-centered coming-of-age novel features authentic dialogue with a fully realized cast of diverse characters, and celebrates the power, importance, and value of friendship. Highly recommended for school and ­public ­library collections.–­Samantha Lumetta, P.L. of Cincinnati and Hamilton Cty., OH

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
For Grades 5-7

A great way to ensure more titles for your middle-grade readers-with 12 additional popular B titles arriving at your door every year.

14 books per Year
$251.02 per Year
Interests
"Clean" Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
14 books per Year
$251.02 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

A Kind of Spark

by Elle McNicoll

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

May 2022

The Lost Language

by Claudia Mills

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

April 2022

Miosotis Flores Never Forgets

by Hilda Eunice Burgos

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

March 2022

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

February 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.