Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Don't Look Back: A Memoir of War, Survival, and My Journey from Sudan to America



by
Achut Deng ,Keely Hutton

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Farrar, Straus & Giroux
ISBN
9780374389727
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Medical: Graphic Descriptions , Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War
$23.57   $19.64
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A gripping and timely memoir from a former refugee, perfect for fans of National Book Award finalist When Stars Are Scattered and #1 New York Times Bestseller A Long Walk to Water.

I want life.

For ten years, Achut Deng surrived at Kakuma Refugee Camp in Kenya after her family was ripped apart by the Second Sudanese Civil War. But Achut wanted to do more than merely survive. She wanted to live.

The twenty-two-year civil war essentially orphaned over 20,000 children and drove them from their villages in southern Sudan. Some of these children walked over a thousand miles, through dangerous war zones and across unforgiving deserts. They are often referred to as The Lost Boys. But there were girls, too. Achut Deng was one of them. This is her story.

It’s a story of unimaginable hardship and selfless bravery, of tormenting physical pain and amazing emotional resilience, of unbreakable bonds of friendship and family. It’s a story about what happens when your dream comes true, only to give way to a new nightmare.

It’s about how hard you will fight to save your own life.

Authors’ note. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Medical: Graphic Descriptions , Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

368

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

B

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

910L

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jan 2023

Book Genres

Autobiography/Biography, Memoir

Topics

Achut Deng. Refugees. Sudan, Africa. Refugee camps. United States. History of the Second Sudanese Civil War, 1983–2005. Emigration and immigration.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
Biography High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

Fascinating biographies and compelling personal stories that provide a view into history or perspective on the issues of our times.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Diversity,LGBTQ+,Nonfiction,Biographies
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Biography High Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Biography High Plus

Biography High Plus

January 2023

Biography High Plus

December 2022

Biography High Plus

November 2022

Biography High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.