Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Hunger Between Us



by
Marina Scott

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Farrar, Straus & Giroux
ISBN
9780374390068
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Grotesque/Disturbing Imagery , Language: Moderate Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Young Adults Plus

For fans of Elizabeth Wein and Ruta Sepetys, an absorbing, fast-paced YA debut novel about a girl’s determination to survive, and save her best friend, during the Nazi siege of Leningrad.

In a city ruled by hunger, the black market is Liza’s lifeline, where she sells or steals whatever she can get her hands on just for enough food to survive. Morality, after all, has become a fluid thing during the brutal year her city has been under siege. But when Liza's best friend proposes that they go to the secret police, rumored to give young women food in exchange for "entertainment," Liza thinks there surely must be some other way. Then her friend disappears, and Liza devises a plan to find her, entangling herself with two dangerous young men—one a member of the secret police, the other forced to live underground—and discovering there are some lines that should never be crossed.

Author’s note. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Grotesque/Disturbing Imagery , Language: Moderate Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

HL590L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jan 2023

Book Genres

Historical Fiction, Thriller

Topics

Survival. Conduct of life. Starvation. Siege of Saint Petersburg, Russia (1941–1944). History of the Soviet Union (1925–1953). World War II (1939–1945). Families. Romance. Friendship. Mystery. Thriller.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

Why stop there? Give them double the literary rewards with our Y+ category-where you can stock your shelves with 12 additional young adult titles every year.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Young Adults Plus

The Hunger Between Us

by Marina Scott

Young Adults Plus

January 2023

After Dark with Roxie Clark

by Brooke Lauren Davis

Young Adults Plus

December 2022

Snitchers

by Stephane Dunn

Young Adults Plus

November 2022

Young Adults Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.