Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Lights, Camera, Middle School!: Babymouse Tales from the Locker


Series
Babymouse Tales from the Locker

by
Jennifer L. Holm ,Matthew Holm

Edition
Library edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Random House
ISBN
9780399554391
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$15.30   $12.75
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

For Babymouse, middle school is like a monster movie. You can never be sure who’s a friend and who’s an enemy, and the halls are filled with mean­girl zombies. Glossary of film terms. Black-and-white illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

208

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

420L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2017

Book Genres


Topics

Graphic novels. Production and direction of motion pictures. Middle schools. Mice. Animals. Friendship. Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, The Horn Book Magazine, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

The Holms, the brother/sister team behind the graphic novel series “Squish” and “Babymouse,” continue Babymouse’s adventures, taking her into middle school. Much like Lincoln Peirce’s “Big Nate” crossover chapter books, this new series will appeal to readers looking for slightly more challenging fare. Though this title contains more text than the original “Babymouse” books, there are numerous illustrations throughout, the font is large, and the difficulty of the language is comparable to that of previous books, making it ideal for fans crossing over into longer chapter book territory. Babymouse is just as energetic as ever, but now she’s dealing with middle school drama and algebra. She doesn’t want to fit in anymore—she wants to stand out! Babymouse finds the perfect opportunity in film club, where she is chosen to write and direct a movie inspired by her favorite epic dramas. She realizes that it’s not as easy as she thought, with a diva leading actress and no budget. Ultimately, Babymouse learns that working as a team is more important than being a star. VERDICT A first purchase where the graphic novel series is popular. For fans of “Dork Diaries” and “Diary of a Wimpy Kid.”—Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library

Horn Book

Everyone’s favorite messy-whiskered mouse has moved on from elementary school and pink-tinted graphic novels to middle school and a new spin-off series of middle-grade novels copiously illustrated in black and white. The format naturally features more text than the previous books, but fans will find many of the graphic novels’ hallmarks, including comic-panel fantasy scenes. As before, Babymouse wrestles with friendships, math anxiety, cafeteria drama, and of course, “a love-hate relationship” with her locker. The intrepid middle schooler—taller and dressed in leggings with a heart-decorated tunic—declares that she wants to “stand out. I wanted to be the one everyone was talking about.” To that end, she joins Film Club and, as screenwriter and director, undertakes the (wildly overambitious) epic Au Revoir, My Locker. Though club members seem unusually well versed in moviemaking fundamentals (thankfully, an appended glossary helps with jargon), our own type-A micromanaging director still has a lot of on-the-job learning to do. Creative problem-solving and listening to friends help Babymouse develop into an eager and confident collaborator. Readers who’ve grown up with Babymouse will welcome her new adventures. kitty flynn

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

The Holms, the brother/sister team behind the graphic novel series “Squish” and “Babymouse,” continue Babymouse’s adventures, taking her into middle school. Much like Lincoln Peirce’s “Big Nate” crossover chapter books, this new series will appeal to readers looking for slightly more challenging fare. Though this title contains more text than the original “Babymouse” books, there are numerous illustrations throughout, the font is large, and the difficulty of the language is comparable to that of previous books, making it ideal for fans crossing over into longer chapter book territory. Babymouse is just as energetic as ever, but now she’s dealing with middle school drama and algebra. She doesn’t want to fit in anymore—she wants to stand out! Babymouse finds the perfect opportunity in film club, where she is chosen to write and direct a movie inspired by her favorite epic dramas. She realizes that it’s not as easy as she thought, with a diva leading actress and no budget. Ultimately, Babymouse learns that working as a team is more important than being a star. VERDICT A first purchase where the graphic novel series is popular. For fans of “Dork Diaries” and “Diary of a Wimpy Kid.”—Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library

Horn Book

Everyone’s favorite messy-whiskered mouse has moved on from elementary school and pink-tinted graphic novels to middle school and a new spin-off series of middle-grade novels copiously illustrated in black and white. The format naturally features more text than the previous books, but fans will find many of the graphic novels’ hallmarks, including comic-panel fantasy scenes. As before, Babymouse wrestles with friendships, math anxiety, cafeteria drama, and of course, “a love-hate relationship” with her locker. The intrepid middle schooler—taller and dressed in leggings with a heart-decorated tunic—declares that she wants to “stand out. I wanted to be the one everyone was talking about.” To that end, she joins Film Club and, as screenwriter and director, undertakes the (wildly overambitious) epic Au Revoir, My Locker. Though club members seem unusually well versed in moviemaking fundamentals (thankfully, an appended glossary helps with jargon), our own type-A micromanaging director still has a lot of on-the-job learning to do. Creative problem-solving and listening to friends help Babymouse develop into an eager and confident collaborator. Readers who’ve grown up with Babymouse will welcome her new adventures. kitty flynn

Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
For Grades 3-5

A wide variety of novels and accessible nonfiction for younger elementary readers who love a good story comprise this category of 12 books per year. The focus in these titles is primarily on the text, though some novels may feature illustration.

12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Transitional Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Intermediate Readers

Erik vs. Everything

by Christina Uss

Intermediate Readers

November 2021

Maya and the Robot

by Eve L. Ewing

Intermediate Readers

October 2021

Happily for Now

by Kelly Jones

Intermediate Readers

September 2021

The House That Wasn't There

by Elana K. Arnold

Intermediate Readers

August 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.